Canadian model taking Google to court
Claims of defamation after 'skanky superstar' comment
By CANADIAN PRESS
TORONTO - A Canadian model is taking Google to court in an attempt identify an anonymous blogger she says has been using the company's Blogger service to defame her.
Liskula Cohen, 36, has been called "our No. 1 skanky superstar" by the anonymous blogger on a website called Skanks in NYC.
Cohen's suit, filed in Manhattan, seeks a court order compelling Google and the Blogger service to identify the anonymous blogger.
Google spokeswoman Wendy Rozeluk said in an email to The Canadian Press on Thursday that it would only provide the information if compelled to.
"We sympathize with anyone who may be the victim of cyber bullying," Rozeluk said.
"We also take great care to respect privacy concerns and will only provide information about a user in response to a subpoena or other court order. If content is found by a court to be defamatory, we will of course remove it immediately."
Cohen's lawyer, Steven Wagner, said in a telephone interview from New York the point of the lawsuit is to identify the person who is portraying his client as a "skank" and a "ho."
Wagner said he views Google as merely "a conduit" in the case, which is scheduled to be heard in court Jan. 26.
If the court agrees with Cohen's suit, Wagner said, she wants the website shut down and he expects she will be entitled to damages.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Wagner said photos and comments posted on the website have damaged his client's attempts to re-establish her modelling career, after she was hit in the face with a vodka bottle in a nightclub two years ago.</span> <span style="color: #993399">okay mi did feel bad fi har when mi read dis pawt
but... </span>
The attack, "a crime that destroyed her money-maker," resulted in severe injuries to Cohen's face that required plastic surgery, Wagner said.
Wagner said his client has been told in interviews with prospective employers that the material on Skanks in NYC may not help her in efforts to resume her modelling career.
Cohen was not available for comment but told The Washington Post newspaper: <span style="font-weight: bold">"I'm tall, I'm blond, I've been modelling for many years and people get jealous.
"If I had to deal with everyone who is jealous, I wouldn't have time to do anything else."</span>
<span style="color: #6600CC">Den shi goh seh dis
wonder if Tropicana know har
Claims of defamation after 'skanky superstar' comment
By CANADIAN PRESS
TORONTO - A Canadian model is taking Google to court in an attempt identify an anonymous blogger she says has been using the company's Blogger service to defame her.
Liskula Cohen, 36, has been called "our No. 1 skanky superstar" by the anonymous blogger on a website called Skanks in NYC.
Cohen's suit, filed in Manhattan, seeks a court order compelling Google and the Blogger service to identify the anonymous blogger.
Google spokeswoman Wendy Rozeluk said in an email to The Canadian Press on Thursday that it would only provide the information if compelled to.
"We sympathize with anyone who may be the victim of cyber bullying," Rozeluk said.
"We also take great care to respect privacy concerns and will only provide information about a user in response to a subpoena or other court order. If content is found by a court to be defamatory, we will of course remove it immediately."
Cohen's lawyer, Steven Wagner, said in a telephone interview from New York the point of the lawsuit is to identify the person who is portraying his client as a "skank" and a "ho."
Wagner said he views Google as merely "a conduit" in the case, which is scheduled to be heard in court Jan. 26.
If the court agrees with Cohen's suit, Wagner said, she wants the website shut down and he expects she will be entitled to damages.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Wagner said photos and comments posted on the website have damaged his client's attempts to re-establish her modelling career, after she was hit in the face with a vodka bottle in a nightclub two years ago.</span> <span style="color: #993399">okay mi did feel bad fi har when mi read dis pawt

The attack, "a crime that destroyed her money-maker," resulted in severe injuries to Cohen's face that required plastic surgery, Wagner said.
Wagner said his client has been told in interviews with prospective employers that the material on Skanks in NYC may not help her in efforts to resume her modelling career.
Cohen was not available for comment but told The Washington Post newspaper: <span style="font-weight: bold">"I'm tall, I'm blond, I've been modelling for many years and people get jealous.
"If I had to deal with everyone who is jealous, I wouldn't have time to do anything else."</span>
<span style="color: #6600CC">Den shi goh seh dis