<span style="font-style: italic">nevah mind mi find it</span>
(CNN) -- The number of child abuse reports in Jamaica increased dramatically in 2008, the nation's Office of Children's Registry reported Saturday.
The office received <span style="font-weight: bold">3,784 </span>child abuse reports last year, up from only <span style="font-weight: bold">425 complaints in 2007</span>, a significant increase for a nation with a population of about 2.8 million.
OCR Registrar Carla Edie told the Jamaican government news service, JIS, that the people of Jamaica have become "increasingly mindful of their legal responsibility to report such incidents," and are increasingly concerned about child safety, given a recent trend of violence against minors in the country.
According to JIS, a police report issued late last year said that, between January 1, 2008 and November 1, 2008, 73 children were murdered and 383 cases of carnal abuse were reported.
<span style="font-weight: bold">Flogging and other forms of physical abuse are a part of Jamaican culture,</span> Justice Minister Dorothy Lightbourne told JIS in an interview.
"There are many parents who even threaten to 'murder' their children, even some as young as two years old," Lightbourne said.
Regarding official child abuse reports, Edie also said that the large increase can be attributed to growing awareness that the Office of Children's Registry is the department responsible for tracking and acting on such information, and not other government and police agencies that handled those reports in the past.
In addition, "if someone has information of suspected child abuse and fails to make a report to the Registry, that person can be charged a maximum fee of $500,000 or-and six months imprisonment," Edie told JIS.
In response to increased demand, the OCR will increase its operating hours and staff
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">suh mi siddung a tek in CNN likkle bit and lo and behold mi see the ticker flash crass the bottom
child abuse on the rise in JA
was there a new study just out ? </div></div>
Child abuse has been the tool of interaction with children by adults including parents and teachers since the days of slavery. it is just that attitudes have changed now and they are seeing it for what it is ,but their standards are still not as stringent as in most civilized society.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i used to see some wicked cases..some people in j-a take the beating thing to new levels;
i've seen wickedness paraded as 'beating' or 'disciplining'...
how much discipline is beating a child with an electric cord until their whole body cut up? </div></div>
Mi concur wid dis sentiment... During my short time in primary school I was "disciplined".. and if that passes as culture I dont want any part of it....I am glad that it has now been banned in schools... I witnessed teachers rountinely humilate students..
One case the child urinated her slef whgen threathened.. And the teach took delight in doing this then humiliating her.. The teach was on the honours list....
I am not againsts spanking per say but there is degrees and beating is not a spanking...
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.