Re: Best places for various Jamaican foods in Toronto?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">whipawt on kennedy road, Rich? </div></div> a little plaza on the east side jus north of huntingwood...first time i went there was in 1984... his stew peas is wicked (fridays only)
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
about the Mainsha on eglinton ave. ahm.
Been a couple years... guess it helps to know the cook (who has changed since then)
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">whipawt on kennedy road, Rich? </div></div> a little plaza on the east side jus north of huntingwood...first time i went there was in 1984... his stew peas is wicked (fridays only) </div></div> good to know.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">whipawt on kennedy road, Rich? </div></div> a little plaza on the east side jus north of huntingwood...first time i went there was in 1984... his stew peas is wicked (fridays only) </div></div> good to know. </div></div> he is randy's brother so him sell randy's patty too
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: JamaicanMe</div><div class="ubbcode-body">It's been many years, but I ate at a place called " The Real Jerk " in downtown Toronto and it was pretty good back then. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistahD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
about the Mainsha on eglinton ave. ahm.
Been a couple years... guess it helps to know the cook (who has changed since then) </div></div>
... it's the sundry distributors doing business in the place mi was alluding to ... but there are different ones about. it's almost like a little chain restaurant now.
you know who used to be good? Donahues on Morningside, but then he sold out.
Im glad no one said Sunrise, cuz when he used to be in the corner of the little plaza on Lawrence it was good-until he "expanded" and bought the old Wendy's across the road and got this drive thru idea and then his food went down the hill cuz he started hiring high school students to cook
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: H_O</div><div class="ubbcode-body">RichD you try Patty Time patties across from the Hospital on Lawrence Ave just between Mcowan Rd And Brimley on the south side?
god, his patty better than Randys own. trust me-- </div></div> haven't been down that side in about 15 years
honestly doah, nuffa di jamaican restaurant dem give jamaican food bad name. fram chicken foot eena stew peaz to di ketchup pan oxtail, it's really hit and miss in a lot of places.
some a dem get hype anna stawt mek tings like ackee bruschetta and saltfish pannini mi nah call no name, but dem did open up pan st. clair weh di old circle B <--- used to be. they did a whole reno which was really beautiful. but if you're on a strip surrounded by italian restaurants, why would you want to imitate them? i wonder if they're still in business?
except the royal caribbean pan st. clair --> if that's the one across the street from the catholic church. they're pretty good and you can actually sit down and eat.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">honestly doah, nuffa di jamaican restaurant dem give jamaican food bad name. fram <span style="font-weight: bold">chicken foot eena stew peaz </span>to di ketchup pan oxtail, it's really hit and miss in a lot of places.
i think is so dem mek stewpeaz a jamaica these days. certainly is chicken foot dem use fi mek red peas soup. i tried it once, bought it from a streetside vendor in kingston, wasn't bad but mi couldnt get past the foot so me never buy it again. although, on reflection, chicken foot no really wuss dan pigtail.
last august in jamaica mi go restaurant a Santa Cruz and ordered what i thought was stewed chicken. sitten came in some sweet pineapple sauce. mi just return it. i don't know what is going on with jamaican cuisine these days.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.