welllll it mite become reality...if dere is a push to replace di US dolla as the currency of choice, so to speak, and everybody and dem uncle, and dere r quite a few, decide fi dump allllllllllllllllllll weh dem a hold, the US dolla will cease to exist ...wat a if an bambayeah indeed
tink it cannot happen, well , as di world reacts to the buy American dictate, dis is one response
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">At the annual World Economic Forum meeting, British Prime Minister Gordon Brown warned of "financial mercantilism" where battered foreign banks could repatriate money and retreat from global finance </div></div>
and even di US business group a lik out gainst di buy American appeal <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> The U.S. Chamber of Commerce stepped up efforts on Friday to kill a popular "Buy American" provision before it reaches President Barack Obama's desk as part of an mammoth economic stimulus bill.
"Some have slammed the U.S. Chamber for opposing "Buy American" provisions, calling our position 'economic treason,'" the group's president Thomas Donohue said in a statement.
"Try economic patriotism. Such provisions would cost American jobs, trigger retaliation from our trading partners, slow economic recovery by delaying shovel-ready infrastructure projects and cede our leadership role as a longstanding proponent of free and fair trade and global engagement."
im not saying that the dollar will always be the currency of choice ..what im asking is that even if it is not the currency of choice why would it cease to exist?
I see Johnny with his head hanging down
Wondering how many shillings left in that pound
Cost of living it is rising so high
Dollar see that, have heart attack and die
Bills and budgets are waiting
Finance ministers anticipating
Unemployment is rising
And I hear my people, they're crying
The day the dollar die
Things are gonna be better
The day the dollar die
No more corruption
The day the dollar die
People will respect eachother
The day the dollar die
Tell me brother
Is there something I can do
Don't you let frustrations make you blue
Time is hard
And I know that is true
But if you pick yourself up
That's all you've got to do
Things can be much better
If we can come together
Long time we been divided
And it's time we be inited
The day the dollar die
Gonna be better
The day the dollar die
I won't need no pockets
The day the dollar die
Don't have to be frettin'
The day the dollar die
Now I see you standing on your feet
And you can also make two ends meet
Never you let life problems get you down
There is always a solution to be found
Bills and budgets are mourning
Finance ministers groaning
Unemployment is rising
And I hear my people crying from the ghetto
The day the dollar die
It's gonna be nice
The day the dollar die
Just you wait and see
The day this here dollar die
There be no more inflation
The day the dollar die
I say the day Danny dollar die
The day Sammy dollar die
We will love eachother
I said the day this a dollar die
Fight some inflation
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">why will it cease to exist?
guess i need to state it more clearly...it will cease to be the gold standard for other economies so dem gwine to offload it thereby ending US dollar dominance....i.e. the day the dollar dies
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body">why will it cease to exist?
guess i need to state it more clearly...it will cease to be the gold standard for other economies so dem gwine to offload it thereby ending US dollar dominance....i.e. the day the dollar dies </div></div> ok...that is significantly different than cease to exist. to a large degree that has begun to happen already.
well it will cease to exist as it has been for all this time, dont?...if the market is flooded with it, the value will tank and who knows, it mite go the way of the Zimbabwe currency
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">well it will cease to exist as it has been for all this time, dont?...if the market is flooded with it, the value will tank and who knows, it mite go the way of the Zimbabwe currency </div></div> hardly think any of us here will live to see that
well u know seh China raising dem voice bak at the US...did u read the articles i posted in Int'l wen my guy seh di US do dis to demselves wid dem whole heapa spending etc etc etc
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">tink it cannot happen, well , as di world reacts to the buy American dictate, dis is one response
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">At the annual World Economic Forum meeting, British Prime Minister Gordon Brown warned of "financial mercantilism" where battered foreign banks could repatriate money and retreat from global finance </div></div>
and even di US business group a lik out gainst di buy American appeal <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> The U.S. Chamber of Commerce stepped up efforts on Friday to kill a popular "Buy American" provision before it reaches President Barack Obama's desk as part of an mammoth economic stimulus bill.
"Some have slammed the U.S. Chamber for opposing "Buy American" provisions, calling our position 'economic treason,'" the group's president Thomas Donohue said in a statement.
"Try economic patriotism. Such provisions would cost American jobs, trigger retaliation from our trading partners, slow economic recovery by delaying shovel-ready infrastructure projects and cede our leadership role as a longstanding proponent of free and fair trade and global engagement."
</div></div> </div></div> Japan is currently repatriating their investments and it is causing much consternation.
how so? the GDP has contracted, wich di prez has had to acknowledge ... consumers have less to spend and wat dem have, dem being veddy choosy wid?...an the cheap imports not ketching dem eyes anymore given the number of recalls etc....food is the ongle ting selling and dat is why Walmart is beating Target at the moment...Target cutting bak, including closing distribution centers...people seh dem shop at Walmart ongle because dem can buy a wider cross section of food products there ....notting else is ketching dem yeye...so yes, the US mite seem to still be a consumers' market but widdout cash and credit, how will they buy ovah and above staples?....
</div></div> Japan is currently repatriating their investments and it is causing much consternation. [/quote]
an can u imagine if China follows suit...dem already a bringle an di level raise likkle more dis week as evidenced by the rhetoric coming out of China....watch and see if any riots stawt occuring in China and see how it is all handled....Chinese people will stomach much but mek dem basic food staple price get outta hand an see wat happen...as the world retrenches forcing the many industries dat sprung up in China to retrench, well den u can see we gwine to have a wataloo
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.