Re: Attorney General re: Race - What would he say about Canada?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: dahJahPawtTwo</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I believe him. me, in terms of willingness to dialogue about racism onoo light years ahead of Canada. My point is Canadians are MUCH worse. Trust </div></div>
I disagree wid dis.
Kkkanadians are a much coward as akerikkkans, but dem nevah use fi have a picnic (picaniggah) bring out all dem yutes, spread blanket an ting while dem heng blk ppl.
even doe mi rave an rail against po-lice we don't see the same level as racism here as there. That doesn't mean one form of racism is bettah den a nex one, it's just the "MUCH worse" phrase yuh use. </div></div>
Come come now Dahjah...given the area in which you grew up, I am surprised at you. Don't you know that Dorchester, Ontario, close to your hometown, is the first place in Canada where a cross was burned on the lawn of a black family?
Have you never heard of the Lynching of Louie Sam at Sumas in 1884
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> The musket barrel that may or may not have belonged to Louis Sam resides now in the Vancouver Museum, bearing a label inscribed in the hand of Major Matthews: “Lynching at Sumas 1884 / The Culprit Indian’s Rifle / Presented by Mrs. Thomas Fraser York.” The handcuffs are there, too: “Handcuffs used by W. Campbell of Upper Sumas at the time of the lynching (only case of lynching in Canada) of Louie Sam, the Indian.”
The statement that this was the only lynching in Canada is incorrect though.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <span style="font-weight: bold">Not all was perfect in Canada for black settlers. Susanna Moodie recorded in Roughing It In The Bush (1852) the lynching of a black man in Upper Canada.</span> There was also a movement to segregate white and black school children in some regions of Canada West in the late 1840s that succeeded.
The equivalent of Jim Crow laws existed in parts of the maritimes and southwestern Ontario well into the 20th century.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: dahJahPawtTwo</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I believe him. me, in terms of willingness to dialogue about racism onoo light years ahead of Canada. My point is Canadians are MUCH worse. Trust </div></div>
I disagree wid dis.
Kkkanadians are a much coward as akerikkkans, but dem nevah use fi have a picnic (picaniggah) bring out all dem yutes, spread blanket an ting while dem heng blk ppl.
even doe mi rave an rail against po-lice we don't see the same level as racism here as there. That doesn't mean one form of racism is bettah den a nex one, it's just the "MUCH worse" phrase yuh use. </div></div>
Come come now Dahjah...given the area in which you grew up, I am surprised at you. Don't you know that Dorchester, Ontario, close to your hometown, is the first place in Canada where a cross was burned on the lawn of a black family?
Have you never heard of the Lynching of Louie Sam at Sumas in 1884
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> The musket barrel that may or may not have belonged to Louis Sam resides now in the Vancouver Museum, bearing a label inscribed in the hand of Major Matthews: “Lynching at Sumas 1884 / The Culprit Indian’s Rifle / Presented by Mrs. Thomas Fraser York.” The handcuffs are there, too: “Handcuffs used by W. Campbell of Upper Sumas at the time of the lynching (only case of lynching in Canada) of Louie Sam, the Indian.”
The statement that this was the only lynching in Canada is incorrect though.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <span style="font-weight: bold">Not all was perfect in Canada for black settlers. Susanna Moodie recorded in Roughing It In The Bush (1852) the lynching of a black man in Upper Canada.</span> There was also a movement to segregate white and black school children in some regions of Canada West in the late 1840s that succeeded.
The equivalent of Jim Crow laws existed in parts of the maritimes and southwestern Ontario well into the 20th century.
Cute accent. I hope he dates Black women.