Too badmind’: PNP councillors at war as Outameni saga continues
Kari Douglas
Councillor Kari Douglas, the daughter of Easton Douglas, embattled chairman of the National Housing Trust (NHT), has gone into attack mode, promising to fight to the death to protect her family name.
The Easton Douglas-chaired board has found itself on the wrong end of public opinion after it was revealed that the NHT purchased the Outameni property at Orange Grove, Trelawny for $180 million and intended to operate the facility which had failed under private ownership. Easton Douglas has defended the purpose, and even as Simpson Miller and her cabinet huddled Monday to discuss the Board’s fate, a press conference was held at which he stressed that he would not resign.
Taking her battle to Facebook, the same platform on which fellow People’s National Party (PNP) councillors Venesha Phillips and Angela Brown Burke expressed their dismay about the Outameni saga, Kari said “as long as an attack is launched against me or my family I’m fighting to the death of me.”
Venesha Phillips
Kari, a first time councillor in the PNP-controlled Kingston and St Andrew Corporation (KSAC), represents the Trafalgar division in Julian Robinson’s South East St Andrew constituency. Easton Douglas was MP for the constituency between 1989 and 2002.
Venesha Phillips, a councillor for the Papine Division of the KSAC, said the matter has been badly handled and charged that Easton Douglas, by his tone, demonstrated “contempt for the people of this country”.
“I am a Comrade to my core, and for that very reason, balance is not beyond me. The interest of the people is at the centre for me. We can differ as to whether this was in the interest of the people,” Phillips said on Facebook.
Angela Brown-Burke
At the same time, Angela Brown Burke, chairman of the KSAC and vice president of the PNP, appeared to have been disgusted by the board’ behaviour.
“I wish the NHT board had just shut up,” she too wrote on Facebook.
“We need people in public service who really care about the public, especially when the public hasn’t caught your informed visionary approach to development,” Brown Burke said, in a post in which she included the hash tag ‘humility”.
Kari Douglas branded her colleagues as ” badmind”, adding they are “useless and by extension hopeless!”
“They should have never! None of them have any moral authority to be passing negative remarks about anyone… Who tell dem fi trouble mi?!!”
Another PNP councillor, Otis Hamilton of the Red Hills division in West Rural St Andrew, told Kari Douglas to be mindful of the medium of which her comments are being made.
“Kari Douglas, you have to know what’s best for you. By now you should realise I try avoid all drama in that place but you are a very promising young leader. I don’t want you do or say things that will hurt you later. By the way, I am talking to you because I consider you my friend,” Hamilton wrote.
But that did not dissuade Kari, who kept up the offensive.
“Tell your badmind councillor fren dem dat and low mi nuh man… if i were like that for a start, nuff nuff tings woulda deh a road longggg time.. not that its too late but low mi. Stay outta this,” the Trafalgar Division councillor said.
Interestingly, Phillips recently supported a motion at the KSAC for a road in Nannyville in South East St Andrew to be named in honour of Easton Douglas.
Loop News Service
26/11/2014 (13:17) 4379 9

The Easton Douglas-chaired board has found itself on the wrong end of public opinion after it was revealed that the NHT purchased the Outameni property at Orange Grove, Trelawny for $180 million and intended to operate the facility which had failed under private ownership. Easton Douglas has defended the purpose, and even as Simpson Miller and her cabinet huddled Monday to discuss the Board’s fate, a press conference was held at which he stressed that he would not resign.
Taking her battle to Facebook, the same platform on which fellow People’s National Party (PNP) councillors Venesha Phillips and Angela Brown Burke expressed their dismay about the Outameni saga, Kari said “as long as an attack is launched against me or my family I’m fighting to the death of me.”

Venesha Phillips, a councillor for the Papine Division of the KSAC, said the matter has been badly handled and charged that Easton Douglas, by his tone, demonstrated “contempt for the people of this country”.
“I am a Comrade to my core, and for that very reason, balance is not beyond me. The interest of the people is at the centre for me. We can differ as to whether this was in the interest of the people,” Phillips said on Facebook.

“I wish the NHT board had just shut up,” she too wrote on Facebook.
“We need people in public service who really care about the public, especially when the public hasn’t caught your informed visionary approach to development,” Brown Burke said, in a post in which she included the hash tag ‘humility”.
Kari Douglas branded her colleagues as ” badmind”, adding they are “useless and by extension hopeless!”
“They should have never! None of them have any moral authority to be passing negative remarks about anyone… Who tell dem fi trouble mi?!!”
Another PNP councillor, Otis Hamilton of the Red Hills division in West Rural St Andrew, told Kari Douglas to be mindful of the medium of which her comments are being made.
“Kari Douglas, you have to know what’s best for you. By now you should realise I try avoid all drama in that place but you are a very promising young leader. I don’t want you do or say things that will hurt you later. By the way, I am talking to you because I consider you my friend,” Hamilton wrote.
But that did not dissuade Kari, who kept up the offensive.
“Tell your badmind councillor fren dem dat and low mi nuh man… if i were like that for a start, nuff nuff tings woulda deh a road longggg time.. not that its too late but low mi. Stay outta this,” the Trafalgar Division councillor said.
Interestingly, Phillips recently supported a motion at the KSAC for a road in Nannyville in South East St Andrew to be named in honour of Easton Douglas.
Loop News Service