so oonu memba that post I made a couple of weeks ago..where someone made a comment about having to do "monkey work"? While the remark registered I was not offended because the speaker was not speaking about a field dominated by blacks..she basically meant "low level" work. My colleague later said the speaker should be more careful because some people could be offended..my response was "like who so?" (awfta all she wasn't chatting bout black people" My colleague said "well anyone that does that work" I thought she had a point..
so..2 weeks later my colleague and I are discussing the NY post cartoon and (she's not american) so I explained the historical context of the word as a derogatory term for people of african descent..
mek along story short..it turns she knows that the word is derogatory term for blacks and I was the one she thought might have been offended a couple of weeks back..
I know she meant well..but for some reason I find her reaction more concerning that the person's remark..
why the heck would she hear the term "monkey work" used in manner that has nothing to do with me, my job or blacks in general and automatically associate it with me..cho..(<span style="font-style: italic">rhetorical statement</span>)
so..2 weeks later my colleague and I are discussing the NY post cartoon and (she's not american) so I explained the historical context of the word as a derogatory term for people of african descent..
mek along story short..it turns she knows that the word is derogatory term for blacks and I was the one she thought might have been offended a couple of weeks back..
I know she meant well..but for some reason I find her reaction more concerning that the person's remark..

why the heck would she hear the term "monkey work" used in manner that has nothing to do with me, my job or blacks in general and automatically associate it with me..cho..(<span style="font-style: italic">rhetorical statement</span>)