So I am having a discussion with a Jamaican who is saying how appalled they were at Jamaican everywhere using the "n" word to describe each other especially on social media. I don't recall hearing it used much in Jamaica during visits and when I lived there. I do see alot Jamaican use it on social media. Not sure what to make of it but what do you think of the usage by Jamaicans? Is it one of those "farrin" mind things?
Jamaicans using the "N" word - When did it become popular for us using it #nword
Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.comTags: None
My grandmother used to call the singer, Shirley Bassey, "that colored girl." SMH You can't change old folks though, just teach the young ones.
My parents' generation say "ole naygah" but that is a very strong insult. I don't think I've ever heard my Dad say it. I have one aunt who can be quite ill-tempered so she uses it as a strong insult, she just insults people more frequently than anyone else I know.Last edited by Blackstar*; 12-11-2014, 06:46 PM.
many (not all) jamaicans like to follow backa the US pee pee cluck cluck. The way dem a move is like them want to be a US territory or state.
I saw a video of some boys dancing and them pants crotches was way down by them ankle. All like dem now, bad man need fi run dem dung and gie dem couple licks, yuh know dem cant run inna those pants
Absurde
Originally posted by Xavier View PostSo I am having a discussion with a Jamaican who is saying how appalled they were at Jamaican everywhere using the "n" word to describe each other especially on social media. I don't recall hearing it used much in Jamaica during visits and when I lived there. I do see alot Jamaican use it on social media. Not sure what to make of it but what do you think of the usage by Jamaicans? Is it one of those "farrin" mind things?
Originally posted by Gen View Postmany (not all) jamaicans like to follow backa the US pee pee cluck cluck. The way dem a move is like them want to be a US territory or state.
I saw a video of some boys dancing and them pants crotches was way down by them ankle. All like dem now, bad man need fi run dem dung and gie dem couple licks, yuh know dem cant run inna those pants
Absurde
Originally posted by Peasie View PostPositive and negative sides of hip-hop/rap have permeated many societies across the world. The language has also spread far and wide.
Dude came to my shop, brought his mom and dad to try to get his scooter without completing the payment for the job.
He stood behind his mom, proceeded to pull out a tiny pocket knife. I put him out of the shop and continued the discussion with him mom. He was outside with his dad when I overheard him telling his dad that the nibber is illegal. I immediately told his parents that the transaction at whatever price we agreed on was over and form now on their son was not allowed at my place of business and the new price to repair his scooter would be 99c less than the other scooter shops, in effect the nibber-price! I was the cheapest scooter shop...by far, so now I still have the scooter, they cant pay until after Christmas.
The short answer is if you call me the N-Word to my face in anger and I have the upper-hand, whether you are Black/White/Other, you have to pay for it.
Originally posted by Tuff Gong View PostThe short answer is if you call me the N-Word to my face in anger and I have the upper-hand, whether you are Black/White/Other, you have to pay for it.
Is "ole naygah" from the N-WORD.Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
Originally posted by Xavier View PostBut I thought black folks calling other black folks the N-word was okay.
Is "ole naygah" from the N-WORD.
Yet even with all that, I don't think that Blacks (certainly not I), would accept Blacks using the word in anger against Blacks. There would certainly be some negative reaction.
Originally posted by Xavier View PostBut I thought black folks calling other black folks the N-word was okay.
Is "ole naygah" from the N-WORD.
Re: original of "ole naygah"...dunno.