I would like to get some feedback on this one. Negative and positive. Would it be a good idea to open an all you can eat restaurant in Jamaica? Some of my family members has said no, because once a Jamaican is in he won't leave. Basically, I would get eaten out of business.
all you can eat restaurant
Re: all you can eat restaurant
there a few places in jamaica that have buffets
but i don't see many jamaicans there
the jamaicans i know are very particular about where they eat, who cooks it, and what are the ingredients
i could also see issues of cleanliness - folks hanging over the buffet, stirring the food up, hair
i suggest you go visit jamaica before you decide on what kind of enterprise you want to open
nuff food in jamaica - some very cheap and good
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Mi totally agree wid yuh relatives! Yuh could goh bancrupt di fus week. </div></div>Jamaica have that, but not popular with jamaicans.
People are too imaginative about Jamaican behavior.. One moree thing. Jamaica is a very difficult place to operate resturant. This is because most Jamaican can cook, and are able to make a meal in minutes,from scratch,at little cost. they are also very picky about the place they eat. even if it is a roadside shack.
yes I would eat there, especially if oxtail and red snapper were on the menu
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: daley1978</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I would like to get some feedback on this one. Negative and positive. Would it be a good idea to open an all you can eat restaurant in Jamaica? Some of my family members has said no, because once a Jamaican is in he won't leave. Basically, I would get eaten out of business. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">the jamaicans i know are very particular about where they eat, who cooks it, and what are the ingredients
That's very true! Jamaicans are discerning!
I have been to an all you can eat breakfast/brunch place in kingston, and the only difference was that they had someone serving the main foods the ackee, liver, callaloo etc. and you could pick up the other stuff yourself, so they had a fair amount of portion control. But you could go back as many times as you liked.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: seemiyah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I have been to an all you can eat breakfast/brunch place in kingston, and the only difference was that they had someone serving the main foods the ackee, liver, callaloo etc. and you could pick up the other stuff yourself, so they had a fair amount of portion control. But you could go back as many times as you liked. </div></div>How many local Jamaicans you saw eating there??
I went to an all you can eat seafood buffet in Kingston. I think it was in Manor Park. Lots of families, and one section of the restaurant was reserved for a rather large birthday party. (Jamaicans).
It was OK, some of the food was buffet style and some you had to order through the wait staff and they served as you ordered.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: seemiyah</div><div class="ubbcode-body">From what I could tell/assume most everyone was local. It was a local spot, I'll have to ask my parents again what the name was. </div></div> I will bet most are not local Jamaicans. Unless they are from the country areas in town to do errands like embasy or stuff like that.
A teef mi idea yuhsi. Mi waan open up wan chain of West Indian buffets inna Narth America called "The Bajan Bucket."