a latt aff peeps doan knoo dat marley putt music to garvey wurds ann change de message dat garvey wass preachinn. peeps luv fii chatt bout marley like imm message wass real blakk wen imm reallee wass preachinn bout intargration, unlike garvey segregationist. soo lett disscuss woo message ooonnoo tink wass rite
garvey versus marley
Re: garvey versus marley
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: nanceejay</div><div class="ubbcode-body">proof? example?
They were 2 different people doing 2 different things.
Bob sang about what he knew and lived.
So why ya not giving credit for that eh?
</div></div> If you knew Jamaican culture you would never ask for proof. the majority of what foreigners find so appealong about marlet's lyrics are common Jamaican proverbs. or the bible verse. Garvey did toobeut he dit it before Marley.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: blakkgiant</div><div class="ubbcode-body">a latt aff peeps doan knoo dat marley putt music to garvey wurds ann change de message dat garvey wass preachinn. peeps luv fii chatt bout marley like imm message wass real blakk wen imm reallee wass preachinn bout intargration, unlike garvey segregationist. soo lett disscuss woo message ooonnoo tink wass rite </div></div>
true, Bob used Garvey's sayings, the Bible etc etc wich was easy reference for the people who listened to the music dat was emerging...
an u have to be careful how u use di wuds 'integration' and 'segregation' in trying to apply dem to Bob an Garvey...the negative connotations associated wid dem, given slavery past etc , takes away from Bob and Garvey...dont u tink?
but den i see ur gadfly attempt again...
Man to Man
Yes, man to man is so unjust
Until we know not whom to trust;
For we have made of life a lie,
In treating man less than fly:
To tell the reason why it's so,
Into history we must go,
Revealing crime, just after crime,
From Cain and Abel to this time.
Our God made man in perfect form,
And to the standard to conform;
But in his ways of self alone
He crushed the good and built a throne:
A regal personage is he,
As proud and selfish as can be;
Forgetting God he robs and kills,
And lays the course of human ills.
Is there no help that we can give
To brighten life in truth to live?
Yes, there is much for you to do
In treating man as Christ did you:
If we should change the old bad way,
The good would shine in us each day,
Then life would be a happy dream,
A radiant, fair morning beam.
October 25, 1927
the difference her is that we all had to do the bibnle in school in jamaica.On addition to growing in the culture and know the jamaican proverbs, many of us even studied Marcus Garveys writings.
So most of Marleys lyrics are familiar to us as to their source. That is why we don't treat themas people who hear them for the first time, onhis recordings.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: blakkgiant</div><div class="ubbcode-body">a latt aff peeps doan knoo dat marley putt music to garvey wurds ann change de message dat garvey wass preachinn. peeps luv fii chatt bout marley like imm message wass real blakk wen imm reallee wass preachinn bout intargration, unlike garvey segregationist. soo lett disscuss woo message ooonnoo tink wass rite </div></div>
how long mi a tell yu fi stop call up rasta name inna yu division schemes...rasta deal wid love, unity & black redemption and here you go pitting our great prophets against each other- once again...
nuh bob marley sing 'africa unite' and 'zimbabwe'???
run weh bawlhead!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
how long mi a tell yu fi stop call up rasta name inna yu division schemes...rasta deal wid love, unity & black redemption and here you go pitting our great prophets against each other- once again...
nuh bob marley sing 'africa unite' and 'zimbabwe'???
run weh bawlhead!
sarree jy butt mii cyaan eelp miiself. mii wandar y dem marley de master rasta
garvey seyinns
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> No one knows when the hour of Africa's Redemption cometh. It is in the wind. It is coming. One day, like a storm, it will be here. When that day comes all Africa will stand together.</div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> BLACK MEN THE WORLD OVER MUST PRACTICE ONE FAITH, THAT OF CONFIDENCE IN THEMSELVES, WITH: ONE CAUSE, ONE GOAL, ONE DESTINY.
Let no religious scruples, no political machination divide us, but let us hold together under all climates and in every country</div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Never forget your Cause. REMEMBER! We live, work and plan for the establishment of a great and binding RACIAL HIERARCHY; the founding of a RACIAL EMPIRE whose only natural, spiritual and political limits shall be: LIBERTY FOR AFRICANS, AT HOME AND ABROAD.</div></div>
"We are going to emancipate ourselves from mental slavery because whilst others might free the body, none but ourselves can free the mind. Mind is your only ruler, sovereign. The man who is not able to develop and use his mind is bound to be the slave of the other man who uses his mind...."
- Marcus Garvey, speaking in Nova Scotia during October, 1937.
Two lines from this speech (published in Garvey's magazine Black Man) became part of Bob Marley's Redemption Song:
Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery
None but ourselves can free our minds
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: nanceejay</div><div class="ubbcode-body">proof? example?
</div></div> If you knew Jamaican culture you would never ask for proof. the majority of what foreigners find so appealong about marlet's lyrics are common Jamaican proverbs. or the bible verse. Garvey did toobeut he dit it before Marley.
Excuuuuuse me Dr DUDD? I was asking for examples, proof...and what do you know about what I know about Jamaican culture
Don't assume please
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: nanceejay</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: nanceejay</div><div class="ubbcode-body">proof? example?
Excuuuuuse me Dr DUDD? I was asking for examples, proof...and what do you know about what I know about Jamaican culture
Don't assume please
</div></div>You asking that question about proof confirms that you don't know as mich as you think you know about Jamaican culture. 99% of hwt he did could be put up as examples.
Asking for proof is similar to asking who was Bustamante.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: nanceejay</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Originally posted by nanceejayproof? example?
Don't assume please
</div></div>You asking that question about proof confirms that you don't know as mich as you think you know about Jamaican culture. 99% of hwt he did could be put up as examples.
Asking for proof is similar to asking who was Bustamante.
I love a "know it all" they're so "don't know jack"