With the Broadcasting Commission stamping out 'slack' material over the airwaves and given the uncertain economic climate, it seems more dancehall artistes are now turning to 'Godly music'.
There are several artistes who have been doing gospel-like songs in recent times for different reasons. Some of the dancehall acts to have done these songs include <span style="font-weight: bold">Elephant Man, D'Angel, Busy Signal, Aisha, Vegas and Tifa. </span>
Elephant Man, for instance, said he wanted his Mixing Lab-produced song, Hallelujah to be a source of upliftment.
"Is not really gospel. Is like in the dancehall, we really wanted to give the people something different 'cause a di crime and violence. Fi get the people dem back inna di God spirit and the radio stations caan play songs wid bleeps. Mi do something spiritual 'cause everybody can relate to that. So anybody not saying hallelujah, wi know seh dem corrupt and dem conscience nuh free," Elephant Man told THE STAR.
But this is not the first time that Elephant Man has ventured into the spiritual world. In 2004 his song Too Bad mind, was frequently remixed with Hear My Cry by gospel artiste Marvia Providence. Recently, he also did another song called God Bless which is a version of Kanye West's Heartless.
D'Angel has been through quite a bit in recent years and as a result, did an inspirational/gospel song with Prodigal Son called Gonna Be Here.
"The song that we did, we can both relate to every line. It's just an inspiration. <span style="font-weight: bold">I think it was an ordained track</span>,"
D'Angel told THE STAR. But she did not stop there, as she did another inspirational song with upcoming singer Aisha called Thank You.
"It's just giving God thanks for the things that he does every day. When it comes to God, I do not question him, he leads and I follow. I am not baptised and I am not converted as yet, but I will just let my father lead. But if it's gospel, dancehall or reggae, it's always going to be uplifting from D'Angel," she said while noting that she will release another uplifting song called Not Ashamed, which was produced by Downsound Records.
And after a trying year, and toying with the idea of retirement, Vegas is also turning a positive page with songs like I Am Blessed and Up Deh. In both songs, Vegas shows his appreciation for all the things God has brought him through. But by doing these songs, Vegas said he should not be labelled as a gospel artiste.
"It's not necessarily gospel songs 'cause artistes always sing about God. It's just doing music. This is what I enjoy doing right now, so I am just working on doing some more positive music," Vegas told THE STAR.
Tifa also did a song called God Bless in which she sings instead of regular deejay style, while Busy Signal has done a medley of praise and worship songs.