Re: Home ownership vs Leaseholds vs Freeholds vs Renting?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Humano</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I would say that in the true sense of the word "ownership", either one owns the land outright or they don't. I am not in favor of any other type of ownership. Other than the nonsense known as <span style="font-weight: bold">"<span style="font-size: 14pt">eminent domain</span>"</span> that some governments like to pull, if you buy yuh land then yuh own it. If I cannot own it and all rights to it, I don't want it.</div></div>
Without <span style="font-style: italic">eminent domain</span>, there could be cases where public roads, bridges, public hospitals, schools - and other infrastructure which serve the public good - could not be built, if private land ownership was deemed absolute and could not be infringed upon. The important consideration is fair compensation when such land is '<span style="font-style: italic">taken</span>.'
Tenk yu Humano.... succicent and the point I was making badly. With the poltical drivers concerning enviroment this concept will become more important...as to what you can and cant do on your land.... Eminent domain..
(I know of a case where there was some 40 acres of original forest and the goveremnt threatehrn to take the land through eminent domain if it was not developed so the owner cut down the trees and found that it was pure rock stone!)
The term crown is misleading... it merely means the Jamaica... Not the Queen. this is to diferntiate between the poltical rulers of Jamaica (JLP), and Jamaica.. The oppostion has loyality to to the Crown.. not to the poltical party in power.. Change the term Crown to state.. it signifies the same thing. Ig you say people of Jamaica instead of crown it weakens the right for an oppostion party to tell the goverement that they are talkin crap... the state becomes wrapped up in the poltical party in power.. state vs goverment....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Humano</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Gen</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I would say that in the true sense of the word "ownership", either one owns the land outright or they don't. I am not in favor of any other type of ownership. Other than the nonsense known as <span style="font-weight: bold">"<span style="font-size: 14pt">eminent domain</span>"</span> that some governments like to pull, if you buy yuh land then yuh own it. If I cannot own it and all rights to it, I don't want it.</div></div>
Without <span style="font-style: italic">eminent domain</span>, there could be cases where public roads, bridges, public hospitals, schools - and other infrastructure which serve the public good - could not be built, if private land ownership was deemed absolute and could not be infringed upon. The important consideration is fair compensation when such land is '<span style="font-style: italic">taken</span>.'
Tenk yu Humano.... succicent and the point I was making badly. With the poltical drivers concerning enviroment this concept will become more important...as to what you can and cant do on your land.... Eminent domain..
(I know of a case where there was some 40 acres of original forest and the goveremnt threatehrn to take the land through eminent domain if it was not developed so the owner cut down the trees and found that it was pure rock stone!)
The term crown is misleading... it merely means the Jamaica... Not the Queen. this is to diferntiate between the poltical rulers of Jamaica (JLP), and Jamaica.. The oppostion has loyality to to the Crown.. not to the poltical party in power.. Change the term Crown to state.. it signifies the same thing. Ig you say people of Jamaica instead of crown it weakens the right for an oppostion party to tell the goverement that they are talkin crap... the state becomes wrapped up in the poltical party in power.. state vs goverment....