Why do men hit women?
Re: Why do men hit women?
on today's Oprah
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Every day, three women die as result of abuse—that's nearly 1,100 killed every year. "That number might not mean anything to you…unless the woman was your mother, your sister, your daughter," Oprah says. Young men who admit to hitting, kicking, choking and even wanting to kill the women they claim to love are opening up to Oprah and giving an unprecedented look inside the minds of abusers.
Sir says the first time he laid his hands on his wife, Christy, was just weeks after their wedding. He says he got jealous after a party where she was dancing with someone else. "It set me off. I remember walking up to her and smacking her full force," Sir says. "I grabbed her by her neck, and I kind of held her against the car. Then, I walked her over to the bushes and threw her in there, and I just started choking her. It was with every bit of rage, every bit of anger I've ever had."
Watch Sir explain how the abuse began.
After the first incident of abuse, Sir says he held a gun to his head. "It was very hard for me to come to grips with the man that I was," he says. Sir promised Christy it would never happen again, and she forgave him.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Though Sir swore to his wife that the abuse would stop, it continued for the next two-and-a-half years. Even while Christy was pregnant, she says Sir beat her to the point where she feared for her life. "She didn't want to be intimate with me, she didn't want to have sex with me and I got very furious," Sir says. "I got on top of her and sat on her stomach."
Christy says Sir choked her and covered her nose and mouth so she couldn't breathe. "I was just thinking: 'Oh my gosh, I'm going to die right now. Is this really happening?'"
When he was in a rage and beating Christy, Sir says he did want her to die. "I had every intention to take her life. I felt like I had power and control over something in my life," Sir says. "It made me feel invincible."
And then there is this EEEDIAT who I only caught a glimpse of but he managed to talk som real foolishniss bout how di oooman him did beat REINFORCED the beating with Sex
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> Tony is another man who admits to having abused a woman. In an e-mail to Oprah, he said he beat a previous girlfriend so badly she bled. "I couldn't express myself verbally, so I would take it out on her physically," Tony wrote. "The thing that triggered me was that I was insecure as a person. To see her stare at another man, or to see her have a conversation with another man, or if she confronted me about anything, it enraged me."
Though Tony says he knew, even in the moment, that he shouldn't being doing what he was doing, he says he couldn't stop.
Tony says he's trying to make amends for his previous actions by speaking out against domestic violence whenever he can. "[I want] to say, by grace and remorse, that I'm still here today," he says. "I made it through."
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <span style="font-weight: bold">In the time that Tony was abusing his girlfriend, he says he was especially confused about his own behavior because his girlfriend had sex with him after the abuse occurred.
"After the incident, she would go in the bathroom and shower ... and come out smiling and reinforce it with sex," he says. "In the moment, I didn't understand it because ... I was so down that I just did that. ... It kind of confused me. I didn't know if this is what she wanted."
</span> </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The grooming, Sir and Tony say, stems from the man's own lack of self-worth. "In public I'm a very confident male; at home I'm very insecure," Sir says.
It's an issue Sir says he and his wife are still working through. "She still heals from the verbal abuse. <span style="font-weight: bold">I took almost every secret that she gave me in an argument and threw it back at her as an insult," he says</span>
. "So it took awhile to kind of have communication."
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">And then there is this EEEDIAT who I only caught a glimpse of but he managed to talk som real foolishniss bout how di oooman him did beat REINFORCED the beating with Sex
well, mi nuh kno wah kinda beatin him a talk bout when it come tuh sex cah some ooman axh yuh fi beat dem during.
some even seh harder, harder
a suh mi hear it anhow
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: dahJahPawtTwo</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">And then there is this EEEDIAT who I only caught a glimpse of but he managed to talk som real foolishniss bout how di oooman him did beat REINFORCED the beating with Sex
well, mi nuh kno wah kinda beatin him a talk bout when it come tuh sex cah some ooman axh yuh fi beat dem during.
some even seh harder, harder
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">In the time that Tony was abusing his girlfriend, he says he was especially confused about his own behavior because his girlfriend had sex with him after the abuse occurred.
"After the incident, she would go in the bathroom and shower ... and come out smiling and reinforce it with sex," he says. "In the moment, I didn't understand it because ... I was so down that I just did that. ... It kind of confused me. I didn't know if this is what she wanted </div></div>
a suh mi hear it anhow
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: DotCom</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> Why do men hit women? Because the women let them.
If a woman does not allow a man to hit her, he will NOT. Now, don't get it twisted. He will try, and probably get away with it ONCE, but NOT AGAIN and AGAIN, unless she allows it. </div></div> <span style="color: #3333FF">Domestic violence usually does not start out with the violence. Rarely does the relationship begin with the man hitting his partner.
Men who are abusive are extremely charming and manipulative. The abuse usually begins verbally and emotionally. The abuser isolates his partner from family and friends and makes her dependent on him, emotionally and/or financially.
The first physical act is something small, like a shove or a slap and then the physical abuse escalates during the relationship. By that time the woman's self-worth is crap and she has been made to feel that she cannot survive without her abuser.
Abuse is usually about power and control, and the most dangerous time for a woman in an abusive relationship is if/when she decides to leave. At that time her abuser's control of her is slipping, so he lashes out at her. </span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
but think of all the violence metaphors in sex...'hit' that, 'bang'. 'kill', 'slam';
smack dat </div></div>
such loving terms