Re: Why do NON-BLACK Jamaican men shun Black Jamaican Women?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: DotCom</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
<span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'"><span style="font-size: 20pt">JAMAICA, PRE-1972. </span></span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: britisha</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
... no one group would rush to be in in another group including through marriage, unless they have ulterior motives.
for a black man and white woman, or white man and black woman to marry, they have to know each other from waaay back, families know each other and some intermingling did a gwaan...no man black nar white naah go to a party or an event and si any woman and juss ask them to date them soh, they have to have something in common...and the woman naaaah goh juss accept date and ting becozz di man rich, since him white....shi might fool roun him fi get some thing valuable but that is it...USE HIM, USE HIM, USE HIM...him use har and she use him.
I agree, Jamaican women weren't interested in white man more than soh...at least professional and successful black women..I don't know why you make that a big deal; for many of us it was and still IS NOT. </div></div> </div></div>
Yes, pre 1972.
In those days when ppl said they were getting married, they were serious; to the extent that if the marriage was called off [usually viewed as the woman getting "JILTED"] it was a big deal. Nobaddie noh even talk bout "jilted" annimore...
I remember when I used to go to church..."the banns of marriage" would be read for weeks on weeks. An announcement that two people were getting married, and basically asking for those who would oppose [like a current wifey
or husband to bawl hout and stop the wedding.] so noh RUSH BIZNIZ CUDDN GWAAN.<span style="font-weight: bold">
So ppl nevah juss seh dem a get married to any Tom, Dick, Harry, Jane or Martha</span> for the sake of getting married....yuh git di driff....such a difference from nowadays whey mi noh even hear Banns of Marriage a read innah church no moah.
How times change...*aye sah*, and if the parson/priest thought the couple were "unfit" to be togeddah, no wedd'n naah gwaan eidah at least nat innah fidem church. <span style="font-style: italic">MARRIAGE, A SACRAMENT</span> was not something to be entered into lightly, remember those VOWS.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: DotCom</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
<span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'"><span style="font-size: 20pt">JAMAICA, PRE-1972. </span></span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: britisha</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
... no one group would rush to be in in another group including through marriage, unless they have ulterior motives.
for a black man and white woman, or white man and black woman to marry, they have to know each other from waaay back, families know each other and some intermingling did a gwaan...no man black nar white naah go to a party or an event and si any woman and juss ask them to date them soh, they have to have something in common...and the woman naaaah goh juss accept date and ting becozz di man rich, since him white....shi might fool roun him fi get some thing valuable but that is it...USE HIM, USE HIM, USE HIM...him use har and she use him.
I agree, Jamaican women weren't interested in white man more than soh...at least professional and successful black women..I don't know why you make that a big deal; for many of us it was and still IS NOT. </div></div> </div></div>
Yes, pre 1972.
In those days when ppl said they were getting married, they were serious; to the extent that if the marriage was called off [usually viewed as the woman getting "JILTED"] it was a big deal. Nobaddie noh even talk bout "jilted" annimore...
I remember when I used to go to church..."the banns of marriage" would be read for weeks on weeks. An announcement that two people were getting married, and basically asking for those who would oppose [like a current wifey
or husband to bawl hout and stop the wedding.] so noh RUSH BIZNIZ CUDDN GWAAN.<span style="font-weight: bold">So ppl nevah juss seh dem a get married to any Tom, Dick, Harry, Jane or Martha</span> for the sake of getting married....yuh git di driff....such a difference from nowadays whey mi noh even hear Banns of Marriage a read innah church no moah.
How times change...*aye sah*, and if the parson/priest thought the couple were "unfit" to be togeddah, no wedd'n naah gwaan eidah at least nat innah fidem church. <span style="font-style: italic">MARRIAGE, A SACRAMENT</span> was not something to be entered into lightly, remember those VOWS.
will check back for your response later as I got home at 4:00am my time is now almost 7:00am my time so going to get some shet yeye. </div></div>
You are exact in your recollection. The reason why me date it is because me didn't want someone to come in here and call you liar, because things have changed so much in Jamaica and they can't relate.
Golding, Manley