anybody know him? heard of him? heard his music?
Who name Ras Michael?
Re: Who name Ras Michael?
read below compliments of a search engine cho and never heard of him
Ras Michael
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Ras Michael (also known as Dadawah) is a famous Jamaican reggae singer and Nyabinghi specialist, born Michael George Henry in Kingston, Jamaica in 1943. In the 1960s he worked at Coxsone Dodd’s legendary Studio One as a session musician and released a number of singles. He was the first member of the Rastafari movement to have a reggae radio program in Jamaica ("The Lion of Judah Radio" program first aired in 1967). His band is called The Sons of Negus and are known for their drumming. He performed with Bob Marley at the One Love Peace Concert in Jamaica in 1978. In addition to acting as an evangelist, ambassador and diplomat for the Ethiopian Orthodox Tawahido Church internationally, Ras Michael is one of the founders and president of the Rastafarian International/Marcus Garvey Culture Center in Los Angeles, and the Fly Away Culture Center in Kingston, Jamaica. Currently he lives in California.
Contents [hide]
1 Reggae4Africa
2 Birds in the treetop
3 Discography
4 References
5 External links
[edit] Reggae4Africa
One of Ras Michael's latest projects is supporting the "Reggae4Africa" Festival which will be held in Essouira, Morroco in October. Ras Michael attended the press conference in Morroco to launch the festival. Here is the press release:
"Reggae 4 Africa announces a Benefit Festival in Essaouira, Morocco starting on Friday 26 October 2007 playing for three days.
Confirmed acts are Buju Banton, Boom Shaka, Rocky Dawuni, Junior Ried, Barrington Levy, Hassan Hakmoun, Elan, Sister Elqn, and Ras Micheal
Other artists to be announced and the festival will be compared by Sinead O'Connor, Erika Badu and Lauren Hill"
[edit] Birds in the treetop
Birds in the Treetops
Praising Far I
Flowers in the Garden
Bowing Down their Heads
Rastaman sit up giving praises
Praises unto Far I
Then why should I?
Why should I?
Not praise Rastafari?
Birds in the Treetop by Ras Michael
[edit] Discography
Dadawah - Peace & Love + Nyahbinghi (1974)
Peace and Love (1975)
Rastafari (1975)
Tribute to the Emperor (1976)
Kibir Im Lak (1978)
Movements (1978)
Rastafari Dub (1979)
Disarmament (1981)
Revelation (1982)
Ras Michael & Zion Train (1984)
Love Thy Neighbour (1984)
Rally Round (1985)
Zion Train (1988)
Know Now (1990)
Glory to God (1992)
Spiritual Roots (1999)
Lion Country (1999)
A Weh Dem a Go Do Wid It (2003)
Run Aggressors Run (featured in the film Catch A Fire 2006)
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">yes from ras michael and the sons of negus...what happened? </div></div>
Mi juss waan know a who name soh as mi girl a sing back up fi him dis weekend an mi want to know if it agoh waste mi time fi goh
for you it might be
he's not your 'traditional' reggae artist...more like drumming & nyabinghi style...uncompromising rastafari stance;
not for the faint of heart
'ian smith you know yu wrong
you shouldn't covet the black man land'
fiyaah!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
anybody know him? heard of him? heard his music? </div></div>
ah chile, if u want to hear nyabinghi drumming at its best, u need fi pick up some of his work....will email u some of mi pictures of him in his glory....look out fi dem
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Diabolical_Tanya</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
anybody know him? heard of him? heard his music? </div></div>
ah chile, if u want to hear nyabinghi drumming at its best, u need fi pick up some of his work....will email u some of mi pictures of him in his glory....look out fi dem </div></div>
thanks Evan
soh unno tink my girl should wrap har head? or as shi a noh rasta it won't matter?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i still dont know what he looked like.. but guys my age all knew Birds in the Tree top..... And can lick out dat ridim.... I still sing it in times of stress.... </div></div>
really Wahalla? the last big concert i worked wid him on was in KC....three day festival...dem pictures r some of mi best of him as him was much older but still resplendent in him garbs and gray hair ...an truss mi, him wear dem wid dignity an honour...none a dat fakery weh dem nowadays one gwane wid...i knew his music like all a we from yaad but getting to work wid him was a highlight....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: gourmet</div><div class="ubbcode-body">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_hhYw_OothY </div></div>
I remember this... I think I still have it in my box.
(The poor youts of today; listening to rubbish about how man have nuff gal and big money and gun.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i still dont know what he looked like.. but guys my age all knew Birds in the Tree top..... And can lick out dat ridim.... I still sing it in times of stress.... </div></div>The Rastafari album was the first Album I spent money on. I have the Dub Version CD as well.