I recently became a citizen { Laugh, them tink say me a no Jamaican any more}Anyone out there know the procedure for my daughter to get her Us passport. she was born in Jamaica. all answer will be appreciated
Us Passport for my daughter
Re: Us Passport for my daughter
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jamaicanabroad</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I recently became a citizen { Laugh, them tink say me a no Jamaican any more}Anyone out there know the procedure for my daughter to get her Us passport. she was born in Jamaica. all answer will be appreciated </div></div>
Do you have an American passport, that might be the first thing you do, it requires mailing your naturalization certificate off with the application (I know very scary right) they will return it in good shape dont worry. Getting your child passport done is relatively easy after you have yours, you can pick up forms at any US post office and follow the directions on the forms.
Try the link below passport site
How old is your daughter?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jamaicanabroad</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I recently became a citizen { Laugh, them tink say me a no Jamaican any more}Anyone out there know the procedure for my daughter to get her Us passport. she was born in Jamaica. all answer will be appreciated </div></div>
I don't think your daughter can obtain an USA passport based on your recently becoming a US citizen. You stated that she is 16 years old so she does not qualify under the "Child/Children born abroad of American Citizens" rule. If she was born in Jamaican while you were a citizen you would go to the Citizenship & Passport section of the USA embassy and have her registered there. You would pay a nominal fee and she would obtain a birth certificate issued by the State Department. Check with the Citizenship Section of the US Embassy because rules and regulations changes from time to time.
try this link ..it looks to me like she automatically becomes a citizen..but you have to apply for the citizen certificate and that is what you would require in order to apply for a passport.
I think you shoudl make sure you do it before she is 18.
si di link here: LINK
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The Child Citizenship Act (CCA) declares that children who are younger than 18 years of age and have at least one parent who is a U.S. citizen whether by birth or naturalization will acquire automatic citizenship. Under the CCA, qualifying children who immigrate to the United States with a U.S. citizen parent automatically acquire U.S. citizenship upon entry; children who live abroad acquire citizenship on approval of an application and the taking of the oath of allegiance.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. Does my child qualify for automatic citizenship under the CCA?
Under the CCA, your child will automatically acquire U.S. citizenship on the date that all of the following requirements are satisfied:
* At least one parent is a U.S. citizen,
* The child is under 18 years of age, and
* The child is admitted to the United States as an immigrant.
2. Do I have to apply to USCIS for my child’s citizenship?
No. If your child satisfies the requirements listed above, he or she automatically acquires U.S. citizenship by operation of law on the day he or she is admitted to the United States as an immigrant. Your child’s citizenship status is no longer dependent on USCIS approving a naturalization application.
3. What documentation can I get of my child’s citizenship?
If your child permanently resides in the U.S, you can obtain evidence of your child’s citizenship by applying for a Certificate of Citizenship. You will need to file Form N-600 (Application for Certificate of Citizenship) and submit it to the local USCIS District Office or Sub-Office that holds jurisdiction over your permanent residence. You can also apply for a U.S. Passport from the Department of State.
4. Will USCIS automatically provide me with documentation of my child’s citizenship?
At the present time, USCIS is not able to automatically provide biological parents with documentation of their child’s citizenship. USCIS will continue to implement programs that streamline processes to more rapidly issue Certificates of Citizenship to qualifying children.
5. Is automatic citizenship provided for those who are 18 years of age or older?
No. Individuals who are 18 years of age or older on February 27, 2001, do not qualify for citizenship under the CCA, even if they meet all other criteria. If they wish to become U.S. citizens, they must apply for naturalization and meet eligibility requirements that currently exist for adult lawful permanent residents.
6. What forms do I file and what are the fees?
If your child permanently resides in the U.S., you can apply for evidence of citizenship by filing form N-600 (Application for Certificate of Citizenship). If you are filing on behalf of an adopted minor child, the fee is $420 (all other applicants must pay $460).
7. Where should I file the forms?
If your child permanently resides in the U.S., you can file form N-600 (Application for Certificate of Citizenship) at any USCIS District Office or Sub-Office that that holds jurisdiction over your permanent residence.</div></div>When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Unless the rules have changed...all yuh have to do is to apply and they should get their passports... if it don't work, then take it from there...don't linger since the process takes longer than usual, considering the backlog in the Immig dept these days. You don't want your child to be over 18 when they get to your application. [exagg of course]
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: britisha</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Unless the rules have changed...all yuh have to do is to apply and they should get their passports... if it don't work, then take it from there...don't linger since the process takes longer than usual, considering the backlog in the Immig dept these days. You don't want your child to be over 18 when they get to your application. [exagg of course] </div></div>Unless you wer a Us citizen when the child was born,or adopted,you have to apply for cutizenship.
If the child is a minor with greencard,when appling for citizenship you can add their names to your application and they wil be granted citizenship then. Otheedrwise you will have to go through the same process as any other non citizen.