...is in a number of his music videos? For example the one where Bob Marley went to the children's birthday party and played games with then. Can't find it on-line but hold on and I'll show you one. Since he has SO many children I doubt that they would have used a child actor. This kid really resembled him.
Which one of Bob Marley's children....
Re: Which one of Bob Marley's children....
He's adorable:
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/vGnlReuck4c"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/vGnlReuck4c" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
I know that when the I threes came to Toronto ther was a kid with them and I saw him at a couple of other concerts but it didn't look like the same kid. I assume that was Ziggy.
FOUND the video. I love it...
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/DJAap-9J16A&feature=related"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/DJAap-9J16A&feature=related" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
you'll notice same kid:
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/cp-6g_CdpJs&feature=related"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/cp-6g_CdpJs&feature=related" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
Are you sure Dahjah? He doesn't resemble the older Ziggy at all? The kid who used to come to their shows in Toronto didn't look like that either and I assumed that it was Ziggy. He was under 10 at the time and he had a full head of locks.
They have 2 bands:
THE MELODYMAKERS
Ziggy Marley | Stephen Marley | Sharon Marley | Cedella Marley
GHETTO YOUTHS CREW
Ziggy, Stephen, Damian and Julian Marley
Could be Julian Marley as one of the videos's looks like it was shot in England....the one with the birthday party.
"Julian Marley has been around music all his life. Born in London in 1975".
Who is his mother? He is a couple of years older than Damien (Cindy Breakspeare's kid.)
Ah got it:
"Julian Ricardo Marley (born 4 June 1975 in London) is a British reggae musician. He is the son of reggae legend Bob Marley and a Bajan mother, Lucy Pounder"
"Ky-Mani Marley (born February 26, 1976, in Falmouth, Jamaica) is a Jamaican actor and reggae musician. He is the son of singer Bob Marley and table tennis champion Anita Belnavis."
"Damian Robert Nesta "Junior Gong" Marley (born July 21, 1978), is a three time Grammy-winning reggae artist, a humanitarian, and the youngest son of the late reggae legend Bob Marley.
Damian was two years old when his father died; he is the only child born to Marley and Cindy Breakspeare, Miss World 1976."
Re: Which one ...NONE....
little usual google search... came up with this article
"Well I know there have been a lot of questions about the "One Love music video kid." I always said that he was not a Marley, it turns out I'm right...haha. An article is in the Jamaica Observer today...
<span style="font-size: 11pt"><span style="font-family: 'Comic Sans MS'">From Marley video star to rebel filmmaker </span></span>
<span style="font-size: 14pt">Jesse Lawrence: </span>
by Analisa Chapman Observer writer
Sunday, April 02, 2006
Remember those feel-good Bob Marley videos like One Love and Waiting in Vain? Remember that cute boy with the dreadlocks and red Converse sneakers who made those videos just as memorable as the songs themselves? Who was this boy anyway?
With the help of the Internet and a two-year old blog, it turned out that the 'Marley boy' was the UK's Jesse Lawrence, and despite his visual association with Bob Marley, he's not presently making music but films.
GIRLS AND GANGSTERS
"At the time everyone assumed I was one of Bob's sons", recalls Lawrence, "which shows it was the will of Jah for me to be there." Notwithstanding 'Jah will', it was also the will of British director Don Letts (Dancehall Queen, One Love) that Jesse be a part of the posthumously-shot Bob Marley videos.
"Don was a family friend who knew my parents from back in the punk days and it was only natural that he turned to me as I fit the bill perfectly", explains the London native. The One Love video was actually shot in one day in the then eight-year old's London living room, while Waiting in Vain was shot a year later in Hawaii - an experience that he said blew my mind."
"The concept of the One Love video was that I was a young boy embodying the great man's spirit." says Lawrence, now 30. Although "raised on Rasta music", Jesse readily admits that back then he had no specific thoughts about Bob Marley, the 'Gong' being just one of a number of reggae artistes such as Burning Spear, Jacob Miller and Horace Andy that inhabited Lawrence's ear in the eighties.
Yet the pairing of the young Lawrence with the reggae icon (through the Letts videos) imparted to him a certain cult icon/ rock star status.
"The love and respect I received from complete strangers across the globe.ranged from women throwing themselves at me to gangsters buying me drinks", remembers Lawrence. Somewhere in between the girls and the gangsters, Jesse decided to look beyond the Tourist Board-type image of the 'One Love' icon and "found another side to Bob - the resolute revolutionary, the ' sparring partner' of many a Kingston bad bwoy and above all, the passionate pan-Africanist."
Now sporting shortened locks, Jesse feels that being 'the Bob Marley video boy' created a kind of innate link between himself and Bob. Lawrence also muses that he could have capitalised on the association. "If I had my head screwed on I guess I would have hit the ground running and pursued a music career, but my other passion was acting and I chose that path instead."
GOING NOWHERE
A couple of modelling stints and several "cheesy pop promos" later, a 20-year old Lawrence followed the time honoured last resort of the out-of-work actor - he wrote his own script and starred in it. Jesse and childhood friend Cristian Solimeno started the theatre production company, Firewater Productions.
"Our work often explored the concept of racism and played around with it, overturning racial stereotypes with humour and larger-than-life characterisations." With a father of Irish descent and a Dominican mother, Jesse says that soon after Firewater's aim became more and more to "radicalise people". With that in mind, the group penned the semi-prophetic play, The Subversive, which focused on a futuristic Britain marked by overbearing censorship and surveillance.
"If we look at Britain now, merely ten years later, a lot of things have come to pass", reflects the former Political Science major, "you can't scratch yourself without someone watching you on a monitor and you can be locked up for 10 years for making a speech." With the luck of the Irish apparently not applying to the world of theatre, Firewater Productions folded due to limited support and because the group knew that "film was the future".
With typical chutzpah, Lawrence and Christian dove headlong into a feature-length film by producing, directing and starring in Going Nowhere. The 90-minute account of "swearing, fighting, police brutality, philosophising and near conciliation". is so far fulfilling its title, as it sits in a box awaiting editing.
Don't Hate Me Because.a documentary series examining varying aspects of human existence, is one of his more recent projects. Lawrence co-directed the sequences, which were produced by a production company, La Famiglia, run by himself and his 'mates' - Christian, Kaleem Aftab and Bruce Melhuish. The vignettes range from a young violinist endearingly recounting that music is her life to the troubled thoughts of a gay, Iranian refugee.
"There are so many fascinating but unexposed stories out there that one could easily spend their life immersed in documentary filmmaking only", says Lawrence, who also credits documentaries with improving his craft.
The proud father of a two-year old girl, Jesse's latest 'baby' is the boxing documentary, Forgot Me Vest, which is also his first solo project to be released. The documentary follows the journey of a young fighter (who at one point forgets to wear his boxing vest - hence the title) to win England's Amateur Boxing Association (ABA) championships.
The Harder They Come fan, who is himself also a fighter, understands the hustle involved in producing films. "With a mini DV camera and the right motivation you can make good [documentary] films without having to waste months chasing funding and commissions that never materialise."
'WELCOME TO JAMROCK'
What has materialised is Lawrence's stint as the shooting producer for the Generating Genius project, which brought him to 'Jamrock' at long last. "It was great to finally be in Jamaica," recalls the Damian Marley fan, "a land of extremes and contradictions. Some places have no running water yet they have a generator to power a huge sound system."
He spent most of his time observing ten British students at the University of the West Indies, Mona Campus. The film project was part of an initiative to improve the performance of young black males in the British education system.
Jesse also met up with Bob Marley's widow, Rita, with whom he hopes to form another Marley visual link by assisting Rita in documenting her status as a reggae icon as well as the Marley involvement in various pan-African projects. Until then, he is preparing to direct his short script, Mash Up, as well as producing and acting in his friend Christian's feature film, This Is What It Is.
original posted source
Well thank you SistahD.
I googled till I was BLUE in the face and couldn't find it. I'm surprised Bob wouldn't have used one of his own kids. He had so many to choose from but maybe they weren't in the right age group for the video. Ziggy would have been too old.
"David Nesta "Ziggy" Marley (born October 17, 1968, Trenchtown, Jamaica) is a four time Grammy-winning Jamaican musician and leader of the band Ziggy Marley and the Melody Makers."
That kid looks more like he could be a young Bob Marley than any of his kids.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Well thank you SistahD.
I googled till I was BLUE in the face and couldn't find it. I'm surprised Bob wouldn't have used one of his own kids. He had so many to choose from but maybe they weren't in the right age group for the video. Ziggy would have been too old.
"David Nesta "Ziggy" Marley (born October 17, 1968, Trenchtown, Jamaica) is a four time Grammy-winning Jamaican musician and leader of the band Ziggy Marley and the Melody Makers."
That kid looks more like he could be a young Bob Marley than any of his kids.
gotta use the right phrases 'kid in marley video'
See article - videos made posthumously...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Are you sure Dahjah? He doesn't resemble the older Ziggy at all? The kid who used to come to their shows in Toronto didn't look like that either and I assumed that it was Ziggy. He was under 10 at the time and he had a full head of locks.
T
good ting sisD come tuh de rescue.
Cah mi nuh tink stephen, julian ar damaian kno dem fadda
could be that only Cedella and Ziggy did know him.
There is a photo with Damian and Bob but Damian would have been too young to remember him I am sure.
I like Juniour Gong's music. He does look kind of tough though in terms of his image. Given how his parents look and how he looked as a baby, you would expect him to look more like Jesse. Guess one never knows what will come up in the gene pool:
Anyway it's interesting, when those videos were shot (1984)Jesse was 8. So, definitely Julian and Kymani would have been the right age. From a casting point of view though, Jesse did capture the essence of a young Bob Marley or at least how one would perceive a young Bob Marley looking.
I was looking for children in Bob Marley videos, child in Bob Marley videos and searching in Google images. Man oh man.Well thank you for that. I need to brush up on my Googling skills. I am out of practice and clearly losing my touch.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tropicana</div><div class="ubbcode-body">...is in a number of his music videos? For example the one where Bob Marley went to the children's birthday party and played games with then. Can't find it on-line but hold on and I'll show you one. Since he has SO many children I doubt that they would have used a child actor. This kid really resembled him. </div></div>
It was " is this love" video.. And it is not a bob pickni if memory serves me right....
More interestingly at that childrens party was Naiomi Campbell.. who describe the gong as having snakes coming out his head...
Oh really. Naomi Campbell was there? I'll have to watch it and see if I spot her. LOVE the video. It's great fun and the Waiting in Vain video in Hawaii really feels like a young Bob Marley visiting Hawaii. Of course, by the time it was shot, he was gone....it's kind of like his spirit come back in a way.