Do you think that Obama has been too apologetic for America's recent role in the World during his current world tour?
..Poll - Is President Obama TOO Apologetic?
Re: ..Poll - Is President Obama TOO Apologetic?
yes a little bit too apologetic; it's a tough world out there...north korea not skinning teeth...serious times; he has to project american strength;
he absolutely has to cool it with the mr nice guy act now
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">yes a little bit too apologetic; it's a tough world out there...north korea not skinning teeth...serious times; he has to project american strength;
he absolutely has to cool it with the mr nice guy act now </div></div>ther is a time and place for every thing.
If there ever wss a time whe anycountry needed this is now.
If youy stidiUS history,you will find that it destroy most couintries bu firstbecomming their friend. Did you know that Us befriended Haiti after it beatt the french. then ask for mikitaryt assistanceto fight Britain. then adter haiti lost the majoroty of it's fughting men,the US turned against them and invaded and destriyed them dividing the country ,bringing in Indian from the mainland to create DR?? playing eeak and apologetiuc has their strengths. as long as you have the might , you can play any had that suits you.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">If youy stidiUS history,you will find that it destroy most couintries bu firstbecomming their friend. Did you know that Us befriended Haiti after it beatt the french. then ask for mikitaryt assistanceto fight Britain. then adter haiti lost the majoroty of it's fughting men,the US turned against them and invaded and destriyed them dividing the country</div></div>
I don't know that the US truly befriended Haiti since one of the marks of friendship among nations is usually some sort of diplomatic relations, even if not a direct ambassador, you have some kind of presence. That was not the case with Haiti. The US refused to recognize San Dominique (later named Haiti). We can speculate as to the reasons: the US and France were allies then even though there was a revolution in France going on, which had some support from Americans; African slaves (and former slaves) had defeated a unit of the then-feared and respected french military; the successful revolt of slaves not too far away from the US coast caused some nervousness on the part of slave owners in the South who felt that their slaves would 'get ideas.' Besides, why would the US have a black Haitian ambassador (former slave) strutting around Washington, DC, when it's black population was largely enslaved?
shoot down your own straw man!1 Wher did I say that Haiti had ambassador? And would you sy then that an ambasador's pressesence of a greater evidence of friendship than military asistance that Haiti gave the US?
as to th enon-ewcognition od Haiti, that was after haiti It;s citizens ti due foir the US and was now weak from the loss of it's trained soldiers.
the Us tried to do the same with USSR dioing the cesond world war. they did it withhh Iraq,using them to fightg Iran while selling weapons to both sides. then destriyed Uraq later after allowing them t (some say encouragiung them ti invade quiate. thennuse it as a reason to destroy Iraq.
one overtly the othr covertly. In the Iran arms deal. And ther are many other instances wher this has been used as a Military stategy by the US. just because you are now sen as an ally does not mean that it is not a strategy to weaken and destriy yoy.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">yes a little bit too apologetic; it's a tough world out there...north korea not skinning teeth...serious times; he has to project <span style="font-weight: bold">american strength</span>;
he absolutely has to cool it with the mr nice guy act now </div></div>
To the contrary, the projection of <span style="font-style: italic">American strength</span> is what has led to America's stature being diminished abroad. Understand that when <span style="text-decoration: underline">certain people</span> talk about "American strength" they are not talking about American aid or assistance - whether financial assistance, humanitarian, support for those countries' own democratic aspirations. No. They are talking about the use of American power to tell others what to do, make them do it, to exercise dominance, and often times, to act against their own national interests.
If Obama is smart, (and he is) he will recognize (as I believe he has) that the new paradigm is consultation, and not strong-arming. Given America's power and influence, it may be "first among equals" but that doesn't mean it has to flaunt it. You have to respect the sovereignty of other nations (not that I'm advocating absolute sovereignty; I am not), respect the fact that others bring value to the table. As more countries and entities assert themselves more, the limits of American influence will be tested, and that may not be a bad thing, in the long run, for America. Again, consultation, cooperation, mutual respect, not dominance.
Kim Jung Hill's move was to increase whatever leverage he believes he still has. The US shouldn't over react. Bear in mind that the US reneged on its agreement in 2007 to provide energy and other assistance in return for N Korean compliance. Yes, its a dangerous world out there, and we must have a nuanced view of why that is so and the larger geopolitical factors and the machinations driving that danger.
Obama was asked if he believed in "American exceptionalism" to which he replied: "Yes, like the British believe in 'British exceptionalism' and the Greeks believe in 'Greek exceptionalism.' A masterful answer.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Humano</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">yes a little bit too apologetic; it's a tough world out there...north korea not skinning teeth...serious times; he has to project <span style="font-weight: bold">american strength</span>;
he absolutely has to cool it with the mr nice guy act now </div></div>
To the contrary, the projection of <span style="font-style: italic">American strength</span> is what has led to America's stature being diminished abroad. Understand that when <span style="text-decoration: underline">certain people</span> talk about "American strength" they are not talking about American aid or assistance - whether financial assistance, humanitarian, support for those countries' own democratic aspirations. No. They are talking about the use of American power to tell others what to do, make them do it, to exercise dominance, and often times, to act against their own national interests.
If Obama is smart, (and he is) he will recognize (as I believe he has) that the new paradigm is consultation, and not strong-arming. Given America's power and influence, it may be "first among equals" but that doesn't mean it has to flaunt it. You have to respect the sovereignty of other nations (not that I'm advocating absolute sovereignty; I am not), respect the fact that others bring value to the table. As more countries and entities assert themselves more, the limits of American influence will be tested, and that may not be a bad thing, in the long run, for America. Again, consultation, cooperation, mutual respect, not dominance.
Kim Jung Hill's move was to increase whatever leverage he believes he still has. The US shouldn't over react. Bear in mind that the US reneged on its agreement in 2007 to provide energy and other assistance in return for N Korean compliance. Yes, its a dangerous world out there, and we must have a nuanced view of why that is so and the larger geopolitical factors and the machinations driving that danger.
Obama was asked if he believed in "American exceptionalism" to which he replied: "Yes, like the British believe in 'British exceptionalism' and the Greeks believe in 'Greek exceptionalism.' A masterful answer. </div></div>
what about his message to iran...
they laughed at it as they probably burned effigies of him...no one is saying to be another george w. but he can't appear weak either;
the speech to iran & bowing to the saudi king in MY opinion not the way to go
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">shoot down your own straw man!1 <span style="font-weight: bold">Wher did I say that Haiti had ambassador?</span> And would you sy then that an <span style="font-weight: bold">ambasador's pressesence of a greater evidence of friendship than military asistance that Haiti gave the US?</span>
as to th enon-ewcognition od Haiti, that was after haiti It;s citizens ti due foir the US and was now weak from the loss of it's trained soldiers.</div></div>
Doc, I know your writing is atrocious, but I always thought your reading and comprehension skills were considerably better. Where did I say that Haiti had ambassador in the US, or even vice versa? In fact, I was saying that was NOT the case. What straw-man? ... Oh, wait, I just saw it ...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: dmXks</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Do you think that Obama has been too apologetic for America's recent role in the World during his current world tour?
if u believe that US foreign policy has not been honourable at times, then there should be no issue wid the representative of said policy tekking responsibility and acknowledging said missteps....dat is all him is doing..if u no seh u know u were wrong in di past at certain times re certain tings, den how u a go get peeps fi believe ur promises fi di future..especially wen u trying to get dem to believe u in areas weh u did sheg up in di past....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: jah_yout</div><div class="ubbcode-body">what about his message to iran...
they laughed at it as they probably burned effigies of him...no one is saying to be another george w. but he can't appear weak either;
the speech to iran & bowing to the saudi king in MY opinion not the way to go </div></div>
Obama can make all the right diplomatic overtures, but there is no guarantee as to how it will be received by the country to which it is directed. The Iranian leadership didn't consider that Obama's speech had the requisite seriousness, and they were not convinced that there would be a shift in American policies towards Iran. For example, has 'regime change' been taken off the table? And if it isn't, then isn't there grounds for skepticism on the part of the Iranians?
Still, I think Obama's little outreach effort there was a good start. He has said that the US will have direct talks with Iran. They may ridicule Obama in public, but they are willing to have talks with their US counterparts.
As to his bowing before the Saudi king, that has been blown up out of proportion for media consumption.
<span style="font-weight: bold"><span style="font-size: 17pt">Iran Issues Cautious Response to Obama</span></span>
Mr. Ahmadinejad said ... that Iran favored dialogue as long as it was based on mutual respect. “We favor dialogue with other countries but it has to be based on justice, respect and national security of our and other nations,” he said.
Read the article in the NY Times HERE.
Rush seh today dat Castro seh him wan Obama fi succeed
yet him said one Castro did seh him did want GW to fail...so u muss draw from dat wat u will...mi nearly pee up miself wen mi hear him seh so...mi had was fi seh, 'gwane tru Rush, u no easy fi real'.....guess him was hinting dat di endorsement confirm dat Obama is a diehard communist....Rush good no gole fi real...wonda if him really believe even 1% of wat him seh...fi real..r him juss a maintain di good money maker dat him ha
Re: Rush seh today dat Castro seh him wan Obama fi succeed
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">yet him said one Castro did seh him did want GW to fail...so u muss draw from dat wat u will...mi nearly pee up miself wen mi hear him seh so...mi had was fi seh, 'gwane tru Rush, u no easy fi real'.....guess him was hinting dat di endorsement confirm dat Obama is a diehard communist....Rush good no gole fi real...wonda if him really believe even 1% of wat him seh...fi real..r him juss a maintain di good money maker dat him ha </div></div> if yuh listen to these guys yuh would think that Obama jus come back from a party at Fidel's houseWhen its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Re: Rush seh today dat Castro seh him wan Obama fi succeed
he was in top form today...i am still trying to figga out if him was backing Chrysler's go ahead wid dem 20mph jeep juss as a inurface to Obama...he would caption dem production afta reminding of di tawks wid di cyar companies by Obama...den wen him segwayed into Hawaii tourism being broke and Obama being dem most famous citizen, i knew he was mocking like crazy....
if mi neva believe before seh him was a racist i am now convinced.....him ha no economic reason fi weh him a gwane wid...not even political reasoning can explain him total dislike fi EVERYTING Obama...him really would preffah di country to bow before him support di President of the USA the country him claim to love