Hi! It's sunny and warm in toronto today, after a long and awful eastern Canadian winter.
The good thing about this place is that when the weather changes, people come out of their houses and their shells and make the most of the the good weather, and there is celebration.
Yesterday was the first real warm and sunny day that we've enjoyed, and Torontonians made the most of it, as they always do.
Bloor Street west and Queen Street west were so busy that I kept wondering what the holiday was. No holiday, just warm weather
So I go to a favorite Jamaican place for a cool bottle of coconut wata...walk in, the laughter I hear cues me before I even say anything...the place is full of friendly nice folks, middle-aged jamaicans, they know each other, they know me, and a lovely woman in her 30s is just about to go out the door when the proprietor compliments her on her loveliness as she does so... she stop and pose in the doorway and strikes an attitude - "No, don't stop, keep going now, gwaan an build me up, mek mi feel good!" Some firemen come in the door from down the street, and the proprietor shouts "Da fire squad here fi cool mi down!" She urges him on, he says "Mi old man, mi nuh doan wan start sumpting mi cyanna finish!" And so it went, I can't remember all of it accurately, and forgive my rough attempt to transcribe their chat, but it was just that for some ten minutes that the two of them kept a group of a dozen shoppers HOWLING with laughter, their shopping business all forgotten about. That's the friendly old time Jamaica I love with all my heart. Bless you all and I hope that you have a beautiful sunny day this day.
The good thing about this place is that when the weather changes, people come out of their houses and their shells and make the most of the the good weather, and there is celebration.
Yesterday was the first real warm and sunny day that we've enjoyed, and Torontonians made the most of it, as they always do.
Bloor Street west and Queen Street west were so busy that I kept wondering what the holiday was. No holiday, just warm weather

So I go to a favorite Jamaican place for a cool bottle of coconut wata...walk in, the laughter I hear cues me before I even say anything...the place is full of friendly nice folks, middle-aged jamaicans, they know each other, they know me, and a lovely woman in her 30s is just about to go out the door when the proprietor compliments her on her loveliness as she does so... she stop and pose in the doorway and strikes an attitude - "No, don't stop, keep going now, gwaan an build me up, mek mi feel good!" Some firemen come in the door from down the street, and the proprietor shouts "Da fire squad here fi cool mi down!" She urges him on, he says "Mi old man, mi nuh doan wan start sumpting mi cyanna finish!" And so it went, I can't remember all of it accurately, and forgive my rough attempt to transcribe their chat, but it was just that for some ten minutes that the two of them kept a group of a dozen shoppers HOWLING with laughter, their shopping business all forgotten about. That's the friendly old time Jamaica I love with all my heart. Bless you all and I hope that you have a beautiful sunny day this day.