The Ministry of Health has announced plans to close the Kingston School of Nursing.
Health Minister Ruddy Spencer told Gordon House Wednesday night that instead of nurses, midwifes will be trained at the present location along Half Way Tree Road in St. Andrew.
He said nurses will be trained at the University of Technology (U-Tech).
"Training is now done by U-Tech in collaboration with the Ministry of Health, so all our nurses are being trained there. This represents the last batch of people that are already in training so the budget allocation is quite adequate," said Mr. Spencer who was addressing Parliament's Standing Finance Committee Wednesday night.
He was answering Opposition leader Portia Simpson Miller who had raised concern about the money set aside to train nurses in the new budget.
<span style="font-weight: bold"> but wid both schools u put out more nurses....we find money fi everyting but training our people in viable careers...ah sah...dem soon stawt underwrite my guy deh moddda own if tings get shawt wid him...</span>
Health Minister Ruddy Spencer told Gordon House Wednesday night that instead of nurses, midwifes will be trained at the present location along Half Way Tree Road in St. Andrew.
He said nurses will be trained at the University of Technology (U-Tech).
"Training is now done by U-Tech in collaboration with the Ministry of Health, so all our nurses are being trained there. This represents the last batch of people that are already in training so the budget allocation is quite adequate," said Mr. Spencer who was addressing Parliament's Standing Finance Committee Wednesday night.
He was answering Opposition leader Portia Simpson Miller who had raised concern about the money set aside to train nurses in the new budget.
<span style="font-weight: bold"> but wid both schools u put out more nurses....we find money fi everyting but training our people in viable careers...ah sah...dem soon stawt underwrite my guy deh moddda own if tings get shawt wid him...</span>