i was handed a flyer the other day which stated that in Haiti mothers make mud pies mixed with oil and spices to feed their starving children. Oonu hear anything like that before?
a really soh
Re: a really soh
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i was handed a flyer the other day which stated that in Haiti mothers make mud pies mixed with oil and spices to feed their starving children. Oonu hear anything like that before? </div></div>
I havent heard that,but I think that is ghastly,really horrible,.....everyone knows that a really good mud pie should`nt contain any oil,.... just butter.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: loops</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
sad, truly sad </div></div>
I wouldnt want to be in a food fight with those guys,...those mud pies look lethal if you took one to the face.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Jaded</div><div class="ubbcode-body">i was handed a flyer the other day which stated that in Haiti mothers make mud pies mixed with oil and spices to feed their starving children. Oonu hear anything like that before? </div></div>
Mudpies are also mass prepared for selling at the market. Saw it on a docu a while back. And yes as mentioned, there is a recipie.
The reporter was quite the trooper, he ate one...so he could describe to the viewers what they tasted like.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
<span style="font-weight: bold">here is an interesting response to di story whe did publish during di floods lass year</span>
Last week, the Daily News issued an article regarding Haitians eating "mud"; another one of the multiple articles used by the media to tarnish our image. Haiti has good things and bad things just like any other country; it happens that we are one of the poorest Caribbean countries, but not the only one. I have been getting some questions from people here asking me if we really eat mud. I decide to clarify this for everyone in the Virgin Islands and everywhere else.
As a Haitian citizen (born and raised in Haiti) I have never eaten "mud", but I know for a fact people don't and can't eat it until they get full. The same way people here smoke weed a lot, or crave for it, this so called "mud" is just something that mostly pregnant women and children crave for and eat as an antacid and source of calcium, even though they know it can harm them. This "mud" is not something they just take from anywhere to eat. It is done and prepared in a particular and specific part of the country, which is Central part called Plateau Central, Mirebalais or Hinche. I have friends who used to eat it just because they liked it, not because they were hungry.
I have never seen any positive report in the V.I. Daily News since I came here from the States. Instead of constantly digging our poverty, why not learning something about our history; we don't need anyone to remind us that we are poor. We know it. Every time Haiti comes up in the VI Daily News, it always followed by "the impoverished nation" it's like that's our last name. Why when talking about St Thomas or even Jamaica, for example, they say "Paradise" when there is a lot of crime going on every single day in both islands? I am confused. This stigma needs to come off our back, like we are an outcast or criminals. People come here from many different islands surrounding the U.S. Virgin Islands ILLEGALLY; they are not singled out; they part of the society. If entering St. Thomas illegally makes us criminals, then all the others, including those who came with a visa to "visit" but decide to stay, are illegal and criminals as well.
Long time Ive heard the story... Ive seen the pictures, and watched it on the news. What a nightmare. It fills their belly and gives a feeling of fullness.
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/oqAF9K39PXw"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/oqAF9K39PXw" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: B_P</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Yuh seet. Di mud pies dem might tayse kris.
Mi wi chry wan wen mi a go a Haiti.
i rememba posting di story pon yah an even sent a copy to mi former church wich prides itself on its yearly visit to Haiti...i was put off by one of di pastors who asked about voodoo saying him was afraid of it...at the time , i asked him if he was sure that he believed in God...
hmmm..not sure what shocked me more confirmation the story is true or the piece vanny posted.
.(never sah that on bizarre foods.. how the heck does the body break that down)
so course i had to google..
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">At first sight the business resembles a thriving pottery. In a dusty courtyard women mould clay and water into hundreds of little platters and lay them out to harden under the Caribbean sun.
The craftsmanship is rough and the finished products are uneven. But customers do not object. This is Cité Soleil, Haiti’s most notorious slum, and these platters are not to hold food. They are food.
Brittle and gritty - and as revolting as they sound - these are “mud cakes”. For years they have been consumed by impoverished pregnant women seeking calcium, a risky and medically unproven supplement, but now the cakes have become a staple for entire families.
It is not for the taste and nutrition - smidgins of salt and margarine do not disguise what is essentially dirt, and the Guardian can testify that the aftertaste lingers - but because they are the cheapest and increasingly only way to fill bellies.
“It stops the hunger,” said Marie-Carmelle Baptiste, 35, a producer, eyeing up her stock laid out in rows. She did not embroider their appeal. “You eat them when you have to.”
eating it because of a craving is interesting..eating because yu have nothing else