I live in the Eastwood Park Area and I can't sleep or concentrate at nights because of the sound systems. It is really ridiculous; the area is becoming uninhabitable for day-workers - most of the noise can be heard clearly for over 200 metres (one of them in Eastwood Park for over 400 metres) and don't forget about the thumping bass. I am a teacher and I need my sleep and peace & quiet to prepare for school but I am unable to do so. I can hear sound systems all over the area. Ok, so forget about me, who protects the children and elderly? No wonder the 10 year olds are coming to school tired and singing all kinds of slackness instead of focusing on their lessons. The one that affects me most is right in front of Tarrant Baptist Church on Molynes Road - the "Police Bar" I'm told by a church official. Could it really be run by the people who are sworn to protect? Any ideas? We've tried the police. LOL!
Help! Sound System Noise!!
Re: Help! Sound System Noise!!
Leddhi is a old timer her i think he is aware of the make up of the board.
We know that eastwoood oark has had that problem for decades. If it is not the Big dances it is the bar round ro9bin. Ther is a community organization in eastwood park with mostly returning residents who have been fighting for the removal of the commercial enterprises fron the area.
The problem is that the more recent incidents are from encroachment of noises from neighboring areas liketarrant, hagley park rd. bloomsfield areas. and waltham PK.
thes sound systems are real noisy. The other problem is that like the police ifficer they are trying in court, the police are paid to protect the dances.
So if you complain, notyhing happens.
I think they need to enact a law that allows for injuried residenta to put a lien on the property that the noiuses emanate from. then it will be out of the hands of the police. It will be in the courts and the landlord will hav eto deal with the injured oarties.
Yes i am paid to solve problems. No charge this time though.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Leddih</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I'm not as mobile as you seem to be. </div></div>
I am not very mobile right now, but the coincidence was a little let say striking.
Teacher, who hates noise, reside in the Eastwood Park Area,
Female?
Mid-40s?
7th Day Adventist?
If the above questions are correct then I might know you?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Leddih</div><div class="ubbcode-body">By the way, what does 7th day have to do with it? </div></div>
Maybe nothing now since the doctor say you are an old timer!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Leddih</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Male, mid 50's, Sunday worshipper. </div></div>
Ok!
Typically the Eastwood Park and Dunrobin Citizens Associations are the strongest in East Central St. Andrew, why not get together and sue the GOJ, the Parish Council, the Police and the Noise Makers?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Leddih</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I live in the Eastwood Park Area and I can't sleep or concentrate at nights because of the sound systems. It is really ridiculous; the area is becoming uninhabitable for day-workers - most of the noise can be heard clearly for over 200 metres (one of them in Eastwood Park for over 400 metres) and don't forget about the thumping bass. I am a teacher and I need my sleep and peace & quiet to prepare for school but I am unable to do so. I can hear sound systems all over the area. Ok, so forget about me, who protects the children and elderly? No wonder the 10 year olds are coming to school tired and singing all kinds of slackness instead of focusing on their lessons. The one that affects me most is right in front of Tarrant Baptist Church on Molynes Road - the "Police Bar" I'm told by a church official. Could it really be run by the people who are sworn to protect? Any ideas? We've tried the police. LOL! </div></div>
one of my long time pet peeves about Jamaica.. noise polution... and if you compalun you are told the usual crap... suffra. culture, stap small man, fight poor people, or the latest iteration
It is my understanding that there is a move a foot to stop this and I know in the areas I am familar with in recent time the police have been policing and shutting them down... Even some sound guys are getting some sympathy to this issue..
My solution is to bribe a police man high up in the command structure to do something about it...
Noise as music when it is heard at a distance... decibels as culture...
In defense of the police they do investigate calls from concerned citizens about the loud music...however...if yu slip dem a money dem usually mek yu gwaan play...at a lower volume....another thing too..they are stepping up the enforcing of noise pollution laws...whereas dances used to go on til whatever time in the morning they now have to be done by 2am! Unless its at a club where the noise is enclosed and away from a residential area
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Hot_Puss</div><div class="ubbcode-body">In defense of the police they do investigate calls from concerned citizens about the loud music...however...if yu slip dem a money dem usually mek yu gwaan play...</div></div>Don't you see that these two actions are at polar opposite?
LOL...how can this be in defense of the Police?
With you defense they would find themselves kicking cans dung Pink Lane!