<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-weight: bold">Pastors</span> have been accused of worsening the problem by claiming to have powers to recognize and exorcise "child witches," sometimes for a fee, aid workers said.
<span style="font-weight: bold">But some are true believer</span>s, such as one minister in Lagos, Nigeria. He pinpoints children affected by witchcraft for free, he said.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">"The role of the international Christian community in this cannot be underestimated," Foxcroft said. "Unfortunately, the fact remains that this belief system is being spread by so-called Christians."</div></div>
these arent illiterate ppl if they can read the Bible.
Cant blame indigenous ppl for what is being propogated here.
Ignorance compounded by superstition...superstition compounded by ignorance...
Wouldn't anyone be terrified of a broom if they know it will be flying towards them?!
Makes you wonder what support people with learning and mental disabilities go through in these parts.
I still see this type of ignorance in Ja, as recently as 7 months ago...although there was support from a few that understood what the individual was under, but this was made difficult by the many who had ignorant views.
Part of dealing with it in Africa is for the outside world to continuosly express disgust...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Nylah</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-weight: bold">Makes you wonder what support people with learning and mental disabilities go through in these parts.</span>
dang </div></div>
diss tredd iss racist ann mii cyaan beeleeve dat soo mannee blakk peeps pon yah doan seeeeth.
y wood bp poas wan tredd bout y dese tings still gawn inn afrikka iff imm natt wan aff dem wannabee mzungu wey tryinn fii downgrade blakk peeps. cho iff itt wasn't pr add sum blakk peeps mii wood tart wan tredd bout y dem welfare ting still a gawn inn pr
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: blakkgiant</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
diss tredd iss racist ann mii cyaan beeleeve dat soo mannee blakk peeps pon yah doan seeeeth.
You are absolutely right. Puts the intention of the poster in question. While I do not expect someone not of African dicent to be capable of having a dual insight to an African context. The strands should be ashamed of themselves.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: neutral</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Here in the UK there are lots of witches coven,and the people who practise witchcraft do so openly without any fear,it`s their personal choice. </div></div>
England has their own weird predjudices like with " gingers." I've always thought that red hair was rare and cool, and yet in England for some it's seen as reason to persecute and despise a person. There's some thing wrong with you if you hate someone because of the way they look.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: f0rTyLeGz</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> England has their own weird predjudices like with " gingers." I've always thought that red hair was rare and cool, and yet in England for some it's seen as reason to persecute and despise a person. There's some thing wrong with you if you hate someone because of the way they look. </div></div>
If everyone in the world had the same colour skin, people with ginger hair would be denied job opportunities, have an disproportionate arrest rate/prison population and be discriminated against in numerous ways.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.