Re: The year when the US Spelling Bee Barred Jamaicans
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: barosa</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">This is although they allow spellers to repeat multiple times,wothout sanction. This years winner made 4 attempts before winning.
talk about hypocritical.... then they want 1 to 1 with competition with Jamaican athletes.
after they spend so muchmedia time accusing Jamaicans of using drugs.
Then they wonder why people doubt their sincerity. Like intelligence is exclusive skill of Americans.
time to play fair, it is not enough to appear to doi so. action speaks louder than words. </div></div>
Doc, I KNOW how yu feel about the hypocrisy and past injustice to our "spelling bees" but as yu dun knoa arreddy, donki seh de wurl no level... The time is comming when we will win again. ~ <span style="font-weight: bold">We'll just have to learn how to outdo the Indians...</span> </div></div>
You don't think that all Jamaica has to do is to send our participants 4 times too until they win?
you really think th eIndians have anything above the Jamaican candidates?
i give you that they have experience and also have theadvantage of emersion in th eamerican probn0unciations. On 2 seperate occasions, in th eyears after Jamaica won, they mispronounced the words that failed the Jamaican candidate. If they wer repeat candidates, they would be more prepared.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: barosa</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">This is although they allow spellers to repeat multiple times,wothout sanction. This years winner made 4 attempts before winning.
talk about hypocritical.... then they want 1 to 1 with competition with Jamaican athletes.
after they spend so muchmedia time accusing Jamaicans of using drugs.
Then they wonder why people doubt their sincerity. Like intelligence is exclusive skill of Americans.
time to play fair, it is not enough to appear to doi so. action speaks louder than words. </div></div>
Doc, I KNOW how yu feel about the hypocrisy and past injustice to our "spelling bees" but as yu dun knoa arreddy, donki seh de wurl no level... The time is comming when we will win again. ~ <span style="font-weight: bold">We'll just have to learn how to outdo the Indians...</span> </div></div>
You don't think that all Jamaica has to do is to send our participants 4 times too until they win?
you really think th eIndians have anything above the Jamaican candidates?
i give you that they have experience and also have theadvantage of emersion in th eamerican probn0unciations. On 2 seperate occasions, in th eyears after Jamaica won, they mispronounced the words that failed the Jamaican candidate. If they wer repeat candidates, they would be more prepared.