More questions are being raised about the welfare of Jamaican female prisoners being held by the authorities in Panama following the death of one of the women on Sunday.
<span style="font-weight: bold">The woman's death came six months after RJR News exposed the poor conditions in which the women, most of whom are being held on drug charges, were being held in Panamanian prisons.</span>
News emerged Sunday that a 39-year-old woman from Spanish Town in St. Catherine, collapsed in a cell at the Centro Femenino prison, and later died at a hospital.
It is reported that she died early Sunday morning several hours after her Jamaican cell mates pleaded desperately to prison employees to provide medical assistance after the woman complained of feeling ill.
Our news centre spoke with one of the Jamaican inmates who claimed that the pleas fell on deaf ears.
She says when prison officials finally responded it was too late.
"The lady felt sick. They are supposed to have a doctor in this place and they don't. They want to treat us like dogs, we do whatever we did but we are not dogs. Why are they treating Jamaicans like that?"
"The lady couldn't breathe! We called them and told them to take her up and carry her to the doctor but they said they don't have any time for that! I said the lady is dying, you can't wait and they said they don't have any time for that because they are sleeping. The lady dead after I saw her," said
a Jamaican female inmate being held at the Centro Femenino Prison in Panama City.
She says the incident has been getting coverage on television stations in the country.
When contacted a spokesman for the Ministry of Foreign Affairs said he had not been informed of the incident but promised to make checks and provide a response.

Most cliquish and arrogant inna central america. Mi caan si dis appening deh.