<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: mangoskin</div><div class="ubbcode-body">since prosperous Bermuda accepted some of the ppl would Jamaica, if asked accept some?
what would be the terms and conditions of acceptance? which parishes be best to house them? </div></div>
I have been thinking about it and I came up with the conclusions that we were either not contacted or considered too difficult a place to settle them in.
I think we should have taken some of them and get the money.
The Jamaican Government has already accepted in principle a number of British proposals to build and maintain facilities for Jamaicans doing time in prison or been deported to Jamaica from Britain, so there is not much difference, except these Detainees are innocent of all charges brought against them.
I have been thinking about it and I came up with the conclusions that we were either not contacted or considered too difficult a place to settle them in.
You may have a point,maybe they consider jamaica too dangerous a place for terrorists to settle in.
You may have a point,maybe they consider jamaica too dangerous a place for terrorists to settle in. </div></div>
<span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">LOL </span>that is what I was trying to dance around, I did not was to be called a <span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'">Jamaica Hater</span> anymore!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> the countries they are from are even more dangerous than Jamaica</div></div>
Not true - China is far safer than Jamaica.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: gourmet</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> the countries they are from are even more dangerous than Jamaica</div></div>
Not true - China is far safer than Jamaica. </div></div> would be interested in seeing the basis for this conclusion.
when i was living in ja in the late 90s, some cuban illegal immigrants escaped from a police lockup and disappeared, nobaddy could find them. undercurrent was that the cops that were supposed to keep them locked up were paid off.
maybe this is behind the issue of whether the guantanamo detainees should go to jamaica or not. wattating if dem go deh and in two twos u hear dem escape nobaddy can find them.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: mangoskin</div><div class="ubbcode-body">since prosperous Bermuda accepted some of the ppl would Jamaica, if asked accept some?
what would be the terms and conditions of acceptance? which parishes be best to house them? </div></div>Bermuda is aone giant size prison anyway.
In Jamaica on the other hand is acrually a collection of individualprisons. It 's a choice between havingthem in a prison wher ethey are in th emixed population, or chooseng isolation cessl in Jamaica.I suppose that the mixed population strategy wins out.
The first set of former Gitmo detainees that went to Bermuda are not convicted of anything therefore there is no reason to confine them in a prison.
There are there for re-settlement. I was merely playing along with the Detainee and violent Jamaica joke, but these guys are free and clear!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The first set of former Gitmo detainees that went to Bermuda are not convicted of anything therefore there is no reason to confine them in a prison.
There are there for re-settlement. I was merely playing along with the Detainee and violent Jamaica joke, but these guys are free and clear!
</div></div> So why shouldn'e they go to somewher intheUS then??
Maybe one of their Islands they own. It doe not have to be the lower 48. I am sure that Alaska or ineiof theIsland in Samoa could hold them.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Tuff Gong</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The first set of former Gitmo detainees that went to Bermuda are not convicted of anything therefore there is no reason to confine them in a prison.
</div></div> So why shouldn'e they go to somewher intheUS then??
Maybe one of their Islands they own. It doe not have to be the lower 48. I am sure that Alaska or ineiof theIsland in Samoa could hold them. </div></div>
Aren't you a USA Citizen?
Have you been following up the debate surrounding the detainees and their destinations for trial and or release?
These guys have been found to be illegal detained for seven (7) years now. I am pretty sure if they were welcomed in the USA Territories they would already have been transferred there.
If you feel different about it, I suggest you drop a note of to your Congressional Representative.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: neutral</div><div class="ubbcode-body">maybe they consider jamaica too dangerous a place for terrorists to settle in. </div></div>
Derek, I never picked up on this till you highlighted it. That is really ironic and funny at the same time...even though it should not .
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.