Re: Offshot of the "Patois" thread
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: uswe</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
@ Derek and Britisha, they're quite easy to get when put into a sentence. Here's two for you, one easy, the other not so!
"Barnet Fair" =
"Titfa" =
Chruly Uswe, these are not as easy as some of the other; but mi googled it...what I want to know is what does the Barnet have to do with "hair."
So how should I say it?
Mi used mi titfa pon mi Barne Fair...?
How's that?
Mebbie wi cuddah start a combo Cockney/Jamaican lingo...dat cud bi inneresting.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: uswe</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
@ Derek and Britisha, they're quite easy to get when put into a sentence. Here's two for you, one easy, the other not so!"Barnet Fair" =
"Titfa" =
Chruly Uswe, these are not as easy as some of the other; but mi googled it...what I want to know is what does the Barnet have to do with "hair."
So how should I say it?
Mi used mi titfa pon mi Barne Fair...?
How's that?
Mebbie wi cuddah start a combo Cockney/Jamaican lingo...dat cud bi inneresting.
... That bothers me, because that shows that there are Jamaicans who don't understand that Jamaican Creole is a language, and they're spreading their nonsense to non-Jamaicans who will believe "the native". Obviously, i broke it down for her and she was enlightened, but it still bothered me that the Jamaican she spoke to told her that Jamaican Creole is <span style="color: #660000"><span style="font-weight: bold">just</span></span> English
. I had friends who would ask me to translate lol
B, yuh ah gwaan good 
Mummie B, yuh is now ah hanarebble Cockney wid distinction