Re: Offshot of the "Patois" thread
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Iron_Man</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Iron_Man</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Yes, Very true. And sometimes idiomatic phrases just can't be translated lol it's pretty interesting. </div></div>
<span style="font-weight: bold">There, in fact, are idiomatic phrases/words that <span style="text-decoration: underline">cannot be completely translated</span> into English.</span> I NEVER said all idiomatic phrases cannot be translate; just some.
<span style="color: #006600">EX: In FRENCH: </span><span style="color: #000099"><span style="font-weight: bold">coup d'état</span></span>
<span style="font-weight: bold"><span style="color: #000099">"coup"</span></span> <span style="color: #006600">cannot be <span style="text-decoration: underline">completely</span> translated into English. It <span style="text-decoration: underline"><span style="font-style: italic">could</span></span> be given the translation of <span style="font-weight: bold">"takeover"</span> or <span style="font-weight: bold">"overthrowing"</span>, but those <span style="color: #660000"><span style="font-weight: bold">are not</span></span> the <span style="text-decoration: underline"><span style="font-weight: bold">TRUE</span></span> translations because <span style="font-weight: bold">"to takeover" </span>in French is</span> <span style="font-weight: bold"><span style="color: #000099">"s'emparer"</span></span> <span style="color: #006600">and "to overthrow" in French is </span><span style="color: #000099"><span style="font-weight: bold">"renverser"</span></span> <span style="font-weight: bold"><span style="color: #660000">NOT</span></span> <span style="color: #000099"><span style="font-weight: bold">"coup"</span></span>.
<span style="color: #006600">
Another example can be seen in <span style="color: #993300">JAMAICAN CREOLE</span>:
How does one translate that <span style="color: #993300"><span style="font-weight: bold">"no"(nuh)</span></span> word that Jamaicans put at the end of certain sentences?
Ex: Gimi mi sitn dem <span style="color: #993300"><span style="font-weight: bold"><span style="text-decoration: underline">no (nuh)</span></span></span>! </span>
just can't... or one could give it some watered down translation that isn't exactly what it is. </div></div>
Very interesting...posted a response with an example in "Jamaican Creyol" and it took wings and flew...will have to do it later.
Are you a linguist IronMan?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Iron_Man</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Iron_Man</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Yes, Very true. And sometimes idiomatic phrases just can't be translated lol it's pretty interesting. </div></div>
<span style="font-weight: bold">There, in fact, are idiomatic phrases/words that <span style="text-decoration: underline">cannot be completely translated</span> into English.</span> I NEVER said all idiomatic phrases cannot be translate; just some.
<span style="color: #006600">EX: In FRENCH: </span><span style="color: #000099"><span style="font-weight: bold">coup d'état</span></span>
<span style="font-weight: bold"><span style="color: #000099">"coup"</span></span> <span style="color: #006600">cannot be <span style="text-decoration: underline">completely</span> translated into English. It <span style="text-decoration: underline"><span style="font-style: italic">could</span></span> be given the translation of <span style="font-weight: bold">"takeover"</span> or <span style="font-weight: bold">"overthrowing"</span>, but those <span style="color: #660000"><span style="font-weight: bold">are not</span></span> the <span style="text-decoration: underline"><span style="font-weight: bold">TRUE</span></span> translations because <span style="font-weight: bold">"to takeover" </span>in French is</span> <span style="font-weight: bold"><span style="color: #000099">"s'emparer"</span></span> <span style="color: #006600">and "to overthrow" in French is </span><span style="color: #000099"><span style="font-weight: bold">"renverser"</span></span> <span style="font-weight: bold"><span style="color: #660000">NOT</span></span> <span style="color: #000099"><span style="font-weight: bold">"coup"</span></span>.
<span style="color: #006600">
Another example can be seen in <span style="color: #993300">JAMAICAN CREOLE</span>:
How does one translate that <span style="color: #993300"><span style="font-weight: bold">"no"(nuh)</span></span> word that Jamaicans put at the end of certain sentences?
Ex: Gimi mi sitn dem <span style="color: #993300"><span style="font-weight: bold"><span style="text-decoration: underline">no (nuh)</span></span></span>! </span>
just can't... or one could give it some watered down translation that isn't exactly what it is. </div></div>
Very interesting...posted a response with an example in "Jamaican Creyol" and it took wings and flew...will have to do it later.
Are you a linguist IronMan?
... But I speak European French and I conversed just fine with Les Quebecois... I guess it just all depends on ones point of view of what's "completely different". </div></div>
) talk funny but they are mostly understandable. They do have a lot of words that are unique and unless you know them you salt. (ex. mozzie, piked) But I find that the bums in Australia chat real bad. A homeless bum was talking to me a couple of days ago and I had no idea what he was saying.

] Patois as well, and in fact it is an ASSET to BE ABLE do so....
... they might even have studied and learned about Creyol in other parts of the world, and now come to realise seh, speaking Patois, doesn't define a person....some a dem a chry now fi come off as even "hip, " "with it" "cool" not stiff and gwaan like dem know how fi flex.