It is reported as such..he made an appeal back in the day , on the eve of Independence...am doing mi rereads n invite u to come down to books weh mi a share di book dat gi u di info plus di references to check...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">It is reported as such..he made an appeal back in the day , on the eve of Independence...am doing mi rereads n invite u to come down to books weh mi a share di book dat gi u di info plus di references to check... </div></div>
No doubt Rastafari was seen as an embarrassement to some people in Jamaica government - until the tourists' (dollars) started showing an interest.
....this wicked and mischievous activity must come to an end. These people-and I am glad that it is only a small number of them- are the wicked enemies of our country. They do great harm to your name ; it is tragic that this sort of thing should be happening just when we are on the verge of becoming an independent people....
....I want to ask every citizen to assist our government in protecting the reputation and name of Jamaica. I ask you all to report any unusual or suspicious movements you may see pertaining to the Rastafarians. Make this your duty. Report whatever it is to the proper authority , and if need be, to the nearest police station.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">....this wicked and mischievous activity must come to an end. These people-and I am glad that it is only a small number of them- are the wicked enemies of our country. They do great harm to your name ; it is tragic that this sort of thing should be happening just when we are on the verge of becoming an independent people....
....I want to ask every citizen to assist our government in protecting the reputation and name of Jamaica. I ask you all to report any unusual or suspicious movements you may see pertaining to the Rastafarians. Make this your duty. Report whatever it is to the proper authority , and if need be, to the nearest police station. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-weight: bold">"Anywhere you see Rastaman, you have to lock them up." </span>..Norman Manley
Did he <span style="font-style: italic">really</span> say that? </div></div>
wood natt surprise mii. goo look upp wat imm cuzzin busta sed ann didd too rasta
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: blakkgiant</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-weight: bold">"Anywhere you see Rastaman, you have to lock them up." </span>..Norman Manley
Did he <span style="font-style: italic">really</span> say that? </div></div>
wood natt surprise mii. <span style="font-weight: bold">goo look upp wat imm cuzzin busta sed ann didd too rasta</span> </div></div>
true dat...but u ongle haffi stawt wid wat him did to Grant...memba seh is Grant mek black shade Jcans lissen to almoss white Busta...him Grant was already di grass roots organizer...an wen Busta get him powah, Grant end up wukking as security guard fi him livelihood...dem toss him aside like nutten
No doubt Rastafari was seen as an embarrassement to some people in Jamaica government - until the tourists' (dollars) started showing an interest. </div></div>
No doubt about that,it was not a secret,it wasnt only manley that opposed rastafarianism,the majority of the population saw it as an embarassment to society.
However,manley and the rest of jamaican society need not have worry,if manley had lived till today he would have asked what all the fuss was about,althouh still a small minority, <span style="font-weight: bold">true</span> rastafarians have grown to be a part of jamaican society and have managed to exist in jamaica and become a part of jamaican culture.
What is probably the most annoying off shoot of rastafarianism is the numerous wanabees,the idiots who refuse to comb their hair,the fashion dreads,the knotty heads,the also rans who is simply in need of a good comb out who call themselves "ras",yet if you go down the butchers they would be the first one pushing you out the queue to get to that nice leg of pork,...or the ones who profess to be a "ras" yet harbour the most obnoxious prejudices and hate,and justify it in the name of their "faith"......yeah,....whateva !!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Derek</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">It is reported as such..he made an appeal back in the day , on the eve of Independence...am doing mi rereads n invite u to come down to books weh mi a share di book dat gi u di info plus di references to check... </div></div>
No doubt Rastafari was seen as an embarrassement to some people in Jamaica government - until the tourists' (dollars) started showing an interest. </div></div> Not really.
Since at that time in Jamaica's historty tourism was not that important.
It was based on thei anti monarchy and pro African phylosophy They also was open public and unapologetic about it too.
Independence then to the politicians, was about self government than it ws about being a republic.
One of the reason was that Jamaican politicians then were wary of any attraction of the USA. Since they all knew that the US promptly took posession of CUBA and Peurto Rico after they gained independence from Spain and kept them as colonies since then.
As to their colonization of latin America, that was another reason.
btw Doc , memba seh Mortimer was a shrewd political Ras
he was in contact wid di Premier...matta of fact he says that he was told by him to tell his half-Indian broddas fi get outta di weed trade ...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> btw Doc , memba seh Mortimer was a shrewd political Ras
he was in contact wid di Premier...matta of fact he says that he was told by him to tell his half-Indian broddas fi get outta di weed trade ... </div></div> Were tey in a position toget out? since they probably was fronting for higher ups. when in a poosition like that,ther is not easy way out unless it is the choice of your bosses.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: neutral</div><div class="ubbcode-body">yet if you go down the butchers they would be the first one pushing you out the queue to get to that nice leg of pork,
<span style="font-style: italic">Sell I a poun ah dat ting dere!</span>
No doubt Rastafari was seen as an embarrassement to some people in Jamaica government - until the tourists' (dollars) started showing an interest. </div></div>
No doubt about that,it was not a secret,it wasnt only manley that opposed rastafarianism,the majority of the population saw it as an embarassment to society.
However,manley and the rest of jamaican society need not have worry,if manley had lived till today he would have asked what all the fuss was about,althouh still a small minority, <span style="font-weight: bold">true</span> rastafarians have grown to be a part of jamaican society and have managed to exist in jamaica and become a part of jamaican culture.
What is probably the most annoying off shoot of rastafarianism is the numerous wanabees,the idiots who refuse to comb their hair,the fashion dreads,the knotty heads,the also rans who is simply in need of a good comb out who call themselves "ras",yet if you go down the butchers they would be the first one pushing you out the queue to get to that nice leg of pork,...or the ones who profess to be a "ras" yet harbour the most obnoxious prejudices and hate,and justify it in the name of their "faith"......yeah,....whateva !!
does that excuse what the prime minister advocated against the rastafarians?
or was it ok as long as they were not 'true' ras?
and who is the final judge to determine who was true and who were the 'idiots'?
i guess your knowledge of 'rastafarianism' is based on the eating of pork?
it's a clever tactic to change the subject by turning the negative light on the victims of injustice rather than the perpetrators
does that excuse what the prime minister advocated against the rastafarians?
or was it ok as long as they were not 'true' ras?
and who is the final judge to determine who was true and who were the 'idiots'?
i guess your knowledge of 'rastafarianism' is based on the eating of pork?
it's a clever tactic to change the subject by turning the negative light on the victims of injustice rather than the perpetrators </div></div>Jamaica was still a colony and the man was not Prime Minister. Since Jamaica did not hav eprime minister yet. He was jsut carrying out th egiovenors orders.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.