Do you find it out of taste to be shouted at to get your attention, "Yow" or "Hey Sah"
Detesting
Re: Detesting
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Q3210</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Do you find it out of taste to be shouted at to get your attention, "Yow" or "Hey Sah" </div></div> They call me deaf, for that reason.
the louder you shout the deafer I seem to be.
I completely ignore it.
The worst part is when they try to communicate with the whole universe claiming they are adressing you.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Q3210</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Do you find it out of taste to be shouted at to get your attention, "Yow" or "Hey Sah" </div></div>
Not really, mi get used to it...di joke is mi gwaan like a noh mi dem a talk tuh, all when dem baawl hout mi name.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Q3210</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
Do you find it out of taste to be shouted at to get your attention, "Yow" </div></div>
Not if it's "Yo!" and I'm at home in Philly.
Anywhere else, and I won't even answer... unless it's in a Philly acent.
In Philadelphia - Yo! = Hi!
Anywhere else, and it's just plain rudeness, when an "Excuse me" would suffice.
I find MOST people here in Jamaica will shout to get your attention, whether it be to hail you up or just to chat or have a request of you....don't mind that so much but DO mind when someone yells to you & then expect YOU to come to dem.
i can't say i find that type of greeting detestful, but i WILL say it doesn't always go over so well.
we recently called a woman to set up an interview for a position where i work....her husband (jamaican, recent arrival) answered the phone with a resounding YO!!! Our Chief Op Officer was a little taken aback...but asked to speak with his wife (American)....who then got on the phone with the same greeting. YO!!!!
She didn't get the job.