As I meet more and more relatives, some of them have accents so thick you can cut them with a knife. You should hear the ones from the hills of Clarendon....they sound like they are going up and down the hill.
Oh and as for the drop h business.
Even some of them who have been in North America forever have not lost their accents...well the men anyway.
De1
1. there Obeah dung de
2. Passing into De3 interpreted as adverb (there) or verb (to be) Me nevah de in di church. I am never at the church
De2
To, Towards (following a verb of direction)
Go de Lang Pan fe watah. Go to Long Pond for water
De3
Takes the place of the omitted verb to be (From African - Twi word dè)
Tax man deh pon mi.
John Crow sey im de dandy man wen im ava so-so feddah.
De4
1. As an auxillary verb of durative or progressive action (de + a verb = to be + present people wha mek dem de sey so Why do they keep on saying so.
2. Expressing intention, determination, certainty. Also going to. Im de go do it
Mi de kom I am coming.
Mi cyan manage it. My head is spinning.
Deh-Deh = See Day-Day
Day-Day A childish expression for good-bye
That couldn't be right. I think the dictionary is broken. I am afraid to check the urban dictionary.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.