So many Jamaicans spend so mucnh money on funerals ????? It is aproaching the immpossible.. Almost necrophilic.. A yardie jus sey to me there is not enough social outlets in the country where people who nuh into dance hall cyan go....
why
Re: why
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">So many Jamaicans spend so mucnh money on funerals ????? It is aproaching the immpossible.. Almost necrophilic.. A yardie jus sey to me there is not enough social outlets in the country where people who nuh into dance hall cyan go.... </div></div>
The money is mostly spent by Jamaicans abroad who feed into the nonsense. There is no excuse for it but like all the other excessive spending by Jamaicans abroad to entertain Jamaicans at home, as long as the money flows people will continue to "dance on their families graves".
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">So many Jamaicans spend so mucnh money on funerals ????? It is aproaching the immpossible.. Almost necrophilic.. A yardie jus sey to me there is not enough social outlets in the country where people who nuh into dance hall cyan go.... </div></div>
Hey Wallie, funerals?
Wha bout di "ni-night"?
It's the latest now for people to travel for miles to attend one, even if they didn't know the deceased or the family...mi heear dem all scout the newspaper and liss'n to the radio announcements to know whey burying deh.
they follow the nyamings which these days are very elaborate to say the least...for wid utter stranjahs showing hup, as they did at the last one we unfortunately had, one can get 'barrassed if the likcah run hout for example...an yuh cyan tun dem whey, fur dem cum fi mourn wid yuh..
As for the expenditure on the funerals....**aye sah** I was made to understand that some of the caskets are "imported" from "abrawd.." hence the astronomical prices.
Gone are the days when...aaah nevahmind..mi juss doan rekagnise Juhmaica annimore in a very many ways hincluding disyah.
B is every thing associated with it.. Funerals, ninenight ect..
I have been told it is traditional... as far as I could recall, food and alcohol was brought by the attendees to set up as a tribute.. It has gone the other way.. the buried are paying for people to come.. now it seems the sole function is to feed the masses....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Wahalla</div><div class="ubbcode-body">B is every thing associated with it.. Funerals, ninenight ect..
I have been told it is traditional... as far as I could recall, food and alcohol was brought by the attendees to set up as a tribute.. It has gone the other way.. the buried are paying for people to come.. now it seems the sole function is to feed the masses.... </div></div>
Wallie, "nine-night" IS traditional...days gaawn by, 9-night was held on the ninth night AFTER the person passed...now dem doing it the day before the burial...[even if it take almoas one month for whateva reasons] in total disregard for the African custom which dictated how we did it.
As mi seh, everything a Juhmaica changed, for the worse, nat even customs and how we treated our deceased matters anymore.
Yes, is chroo yuh talking...everything centers around di nyamings now...hence th multitudes that are showing up..the last burieing we had, crowd mussie did stretch almoas 1/4 mile dung di road....strangely enuff we had crates of beer to return to the wholesale the Monday after...Jesus mussie haff bin dere turning the few loaves and fishes an one can a beer into more dan enuff...I cuddn't resist.