Re: Learn about the advancements of Jamaican Creole
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Iron_Man</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: _______</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Mi seh..if I laff I pap...imagine mi bawn an grow a chat patwa an den dis so call hoffishal sitten a go tell mi seh how mi chatting it is di wrang way af chatting it..dat mi affi go relearn mi native tongue...unoo nuh badda mek mi pisz up miself in yah tideh.

btw...a very noble effort on their part
...too bad that is all it will be... </div></div>
<span style="text-decoration: underline">IT'S NOT ABOUT SPEAKING, IT'S ABOUT <span style="font-weight: bold">WRITING!</span></span>
I cannot explain it more simply than that. </div></div>
Mek mi si if mi undastan wat u sayin... If it is all about writing and not speaking what is the point?
This board is a perfect example that people write how they speak (patwa) and it is understood by most. Isn't that one of the biggest problems with English as we know it? Why are we having the same focus? Mi nuh get it... I guess I am slow today
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Iron_Man</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: _______</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Mi seh..if I laff I pap...imagine mi bawn an grow a chat patwa an den dis so call hoffishal sitten a go tell mi seh how mi chatting it is di wrang way af chatting it..dat mi affi go relearn mi native tongue...unoo nuh badda mek mi pisz up miself in yah tideh.

btw...a very noble effort on their part
...too bad that is all it will be... </div></div><span style="text-decoration: underline">IT'S NOT ABOUT SPEAKING, IT'S ABOUT <span style="font-weight: bold">WRITING!</span></span>
I cannot explain it more simply than that. </div></div>
Mek mi si if mi undastan wat u sayin... If it is all about writing and not speaking what is the point?
This board is a perfect example that people write how they speak (patwa) and it is understood by most. Isn't that one of the biggest problems with English as we know it? Why are we having the same focus? Mi nuh get it... I guess I am slow today
I have friends an family living in JA who do write Patois occasionally on facebook. Granted it's not as much as is seen here on JA.com it's more of a 40/60 split. kinda like how Kingston people will occassionally throw in a few patios words in a conversation