Re: wid all dis tawk of socialised medicine, as a yaadie in
I collected EI (unemployment) one time. I was between careers and wanted to pick an choose so I did temp work and collected EI for the days/weeks I didnt' work.
I could have survived with out it, but I paid into those coffers for x-amount a years and felt like I should benefit. Out of the 11 weeks I qualified for I prolly collected 3 weeks
You know at the rate of how things are going here in ON, I thought I was going to have to go on EI. I even applied for it but I started working before my severance period was up.
Don't qualify yet, but looking forward to getting medicare. when thetime comes. And it is from no public coffers. It is my own money that i hav ebeen paying for decades, and will not be able to use it until then. can you imagine the amount of earnings thise dollars over the years would have been, if it was a insurance pilicy?<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">farrin, u eva tek anyting from di public coffers yet?....u know, like medicare, WIC, foodstamps, unemployment etc?
r, have u always been working, hustling etc n tek care of uself
No mi neva, but know dat there are people who really need it.
Mi basically put miself through school an ting. Parents provided di opportunity by bringing wi up yah, an mi tek ie from deh.
I however, do think dat di USA need fi start teking care ah dem own less fortunate an di working man. Afterall, dem ah tek care ah everybaddi else, including other countries, an mi noh hear di kina outrage dat mi ah hear bout dis Public Health Care Plan option whe Pres Obama ah try pass.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.