<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/fkMb-JKnjNA&feature=related"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/fkMb-JKnjNA&feature=related" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
Any1 believe he is Jamaican?
Re: Any1 believe he is Jamaican?
I asked a Jamaican friend who speaks and teaches Spanish. She says based on the accent it sounds like he is from from the Dominican Republic.Out of Many One People Online
http://www.jamaicans.com
Don't have time to watch the entire video. His parents could be hispanic expats living in Jamaica. He may have been born in Jamaica, identifies with the culture and considers himself Jamaican.7/5th of all people do not understand fractions.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: B_P</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The accent is a Spanish accent (from Madrid, specifically). But he doesn't speak it like it's a first language. Most likely from English-speaking island in the west Indies i.e. JA or Barbados. </div></div>
For sure there is no accent there that is Jamaican. Heard Jamaican's pronounce in other languages (Italian, Swedish, etc), there is a distinction in the pronounciation of the vowels , and he is NOT there with it. If he is at an age where he can remember his time back in Jamaica, and has connection with his family there (as you guys suggest), then the vowel pronounciation would be inflected in his speech when he is trying in English (for example when he says "Jamaica", or "I'm the one" I don't hear it.
If he hasn't got the family connection - how did he get where he's at...?
Also, if you've been in UK and around some parts of Europe, there are many who do try to throw a J'can accent, pretenders, personally and for my sisters &bro's, I can tell from a mile off.
Othert than that, don't see this is worth wasting anymore of my time on.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: B_P</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Anything is possible but if that is the case, he could have Haitian roots, bawn an raised deh a yawd, an went to Spain to train.Oonuh si di complexity.
Whether he was born in Jamaica or not, he definetely has Jamaican connections in some manner; it may even be psychological.~ Some of us may not know it, but because of our "high profile" due to Bob Marley, his music and other artists as well, we are on the radar... Now comes Usain Bolt with his athletic prowess, many are drawn to us and want to identify with us. It is especially so, within the third world societies...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: barosa</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: B_P</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Anything is possible but if that is the case, he could have Haitian roots, bawn an raised deh a yawd, an went to Spain to train.Oonuh si di complexity.
Whether he was born in Jamaica or not, he definetely has Jamaican connections in some manner; it may even be psychological.~ Some of us may not know it, but because of our "high profile" due to Bob Marley, his music and other artists as well, we are on the radar... Now comes Usain Bolt with his athletic prowess, many are drawn to us and want to identify with us. It is especially so, within the third world societies...
<span style="font-size: 11pt">
Whatever!!
Yes...and I'm psychologically Italian, because I like Armani, and Italian leather</span>