Dyam teif
Originally posted by Wahalla View Post
jamaica natt addressinn jamaicans teefs woo raid people farm iss a bigg disgrace
Here is the letter to the editor for those (like CeaBee) who cyaan bodda click on link.
Published:Friday | October 2, 2015
THE EDITOR, Sir:
The main reason the local Jamaican dairy and beef industry is flat on its face and/or its back is because of the rampant farm theft from which we suffer and successive governments' incompetence and inability to prevent or halt the scourge. I have personally suffered. I tried to develop a small 25-acre farm in Nightingale Grove in St Catherine in 2002 with two young heifers, which increased to four by the end of the first year. This property is located approximately 200 yards north of the Jamaica Broilers processing plant on the eastern boundary.
By Christmas 2005, the herd had grown to 16. It was my intention to develop a small pilot operation producing fresh creams and cottage cheese for the uptown market in St Andrew, to the extent that I visited a dairy operation in Devon, Cornwall, England to see how the processing was done. The week before Christmas, three of the cows were stolen. My caretaker who lived on the property reported the matter to the Old Harbour Police Station, the nearest one to us, and we are still waiting for the police to turn up.
The run-up to the week before Easter 2006, a truck in the early hours of one morning hit down the steel entrance gate of the property and also the pen gate, hauled out and butchered five more cows, making no attempt to work in silence. They also tried smashing the door of the caretaker's house, forcing him to bolt through a back window and hide in the bushes. They would, without doubt, have butchered him, too.
The caretaker called the Old Harbour police, telling them what was taking place and asking them to come urgently and catch the dirty rats red-handed, but their reply was that he could come to the station at 7 a.m. and make a report. Having learnt of the attack, I immediately contacted a very well-known high-ranking police superintendent, who told me right then and there that he sympathised with my dilemma, but that the police had neither the manpower or logistics to deal with cow t'ief, as they were busy dealing with homicides.
The Cover Of Darkness
I then went to the great expense of building a 10-foot wall on the road boundary with a heavy steel gate. We had a lull till about 2009 when the herd grew back about 16, but then it started all over again, the last straw being September 2013, when under the cover of darkness, another large truck broke through the gate, stole and butchered the remaining 13 head of cattle, with my caretaker again running for his life and calling the police and getting the same response as in 2006.
The property is now shut down and is up for sale. The only thing that I get is harassment from the Government for property taxes on something that earns no income. My caretaker is also out of a job, but lives in the house without light and water.
Jamaica, the country that I love, is a disaster and a failed state for those of us who wish to make an honest, productive living because of those we have entrusted with running our country's affair practically since 1972.
GERRY FOSTER
[email protected]
Stony Hill, Kingston 9
But tell me something. These damn teifs show up wid truck and butchering equipment and just butcher di man cow dem so? Rahtid. This was obviously a well-thought out almost industrial operation. Shameful SOBs
Then there was this comment on the article:What a sad story. I was a bit lucky because when I went to RADA [Rural Agricultural Development Authority] for suggestion on what to plant in order to put my property to productive use and earn a little to pay my property tax, the RADA representative told me that any crop that I put on the property will be stolen. I left the office scratching my head because Jamaicans are encouraged to plant more. What a life!
Originally posted by Peasie View PostBut tell me something. These damn teifs show up wid truck and butchering equipment and just butcher di man cow dem so? Rahtid. This was obviously a well-thought out almost industrial operation. Shameful SOBs
Then there was this comment on the article:What a sad story. I was a bit lucky because when I went to RADA [Rural Agricultural Development Authority] for suggestion on what to plant in order to put my property to productive use and earn a little to pay my property tax, the RADA representative told me that any crop that I put on the property will be stolen. I left the office scratching my head because Jamaicans are encouraged to plant more. What a life!
dat y more farmers need machines to protect demselves ann dem propertee
Originally posted by Peasie View PostI don't understand what you mean? Machine guns?
natt machine gunns butt farmers need to be armed to protect demselves ann properties fram dose brazen criminals. iff farmers start fe leggo tings wen dem truck teefs brukk dunn dem gates dem more teefs wood proceed widd caution
Originally posted by blugiant View Postnatt machine gunns butt farmers need to be armed to protect demselves ann properties fram dose brazen criminals. iff farmers start fe leggo tings wen dem truck teefs brukk dunn dem gates dem more teefs wood proceed widd caution
all dat would happen is dat yuh would see dem kill the armed farmer before dem go fi butcher the cow dem.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
Originally posted by RichD View Postyuh tink likkle gun a go scare tief who nah even screechy fi tiief? dem a drive truck fi lick dung gate yuh think sey dem afraid to get caught?
all dat would happen is dat yuh would see dem kill the armed farmer before dem go fi butcher the cow dem.
Originally posted by Peasie View PostBut tell me something. These damn teifs show up wid truck and butchering equipment and just butcher di man cow dem so? Rahtid. This was obviously a well-thought out almost industrial operation. Shameful SOBs
Originally posted by RichD View Postyuh tink likkle gun a go scare tief who nah even screechy fi tiief? dem a drive truck fi lick dung gate yuh think sey dem afraid to get caught?
all dat would happen is dat yuh would see dem kill the armed farmer before dem go fi butcher the cow dem.
sky fallinn sky falling a dem likkle farmer fe go cower unda dem bed.
iff dem lick dunn sum aff dem duttee teefs even iff a few farmers will perish dat will putt fear inna dem teefs. duppy know woo fe frighten. massai in afrikka go hunt ann kill dem lions who mess widd dem cows. da lions know woo nuh fe chubble. jungle justice ting. too manee aff dem farmers inn ja nah organize ann defend dem communitee tandard. iff babylon cyaan protect yuh ann yuh propertee well man affii defend imm human rites aff self defence.
mii memba inn ja wen badd man farmers used fe leggoo pon peeps woo violate dem propertee rites
Originally posted by Tuff Gong View PostWell at least the RADA Rep was open and honest and the one seeking advice, heeded the word!
I keep thinking about the boldness of tearing down a metal gate, rounding up and butchering 13 cows on the spot, packing meat into the truck, then off to market! Surely this would have taken hours. This man's farm was closely monitored by the thieves and the plan was well organized and executed!
what a disgrace.
Originally posted by Gen View Posti don't understand
if police don't have resources to tackle homicide, etc, why farmers think dem gwine come tackle cow and ackee teef
yuh either gwine to write it off as a loss or prepare to fight with them on a daily basis
Here the small man who has a few gwnja tree mixed up with his crops cant even report his loss. So predial laceny is u der reported... if teif stole computers from offices up town and means of production from a factory on marcus garvey d4ive it would be an issue... predial laceny is never treated seriously...it is just a few crops ATTITUDE ..no that is boxing food out of people mouth... in the nineties there were trucks going south ST E r3aping melon driven by gun man....that was s hool fees denyed equipment mashed up and un fit food picked....
Now people selling curry goat at dance have to have proof of where they got the meat...meat liecence... if they dont the pot is confiscated. Happened last month at a thing in Black River...then there was the usual shout of sufferer.. Remember the old woman selling the a ackee that was one of the issues why she was arrested...