So mi change me last name that ******* give me ancestors and some of me family vex with me .Some cant understand why me want to distance mi self from that name. Dem think me must se lose mi mind .me tell them what MR X say, china man have him proper name, ******* have him name, indian have him name syrian/lebaneese have him name, jew have him name but <span style="font-size: 17pt">in jamaica the black man is the only one that is proud of masa name.</span> who else pon here get rid of masa name? If yu stil keep masa name what is the reason for this?
Is it ok for Afro jamaicans to keep using ******* last name?
Re: Is it ok for Afro jamaicans to keep using ******* last name?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Panajar</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> So mi change me last </div></div>
one word makes a world of difference
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Panajar</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> So mi change me last </div></div>
one word makes a world of difference </div></div>
thanks
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: neutral</div><div class="ubbcode-body">So what criteria did you use to choose your african name...? </div></div>
since dem sey nuff of we descend fram Ghana me choose one fram there.
when mi decide fe change mi last name mi family tink me come a farrin come tun rasta ,but mi tell dem that me tun<span style="font-weight: bold"> Atheist </span>now dem really confuse .
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Panajar</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: neutral</div><div class="ubbcode-body">So what criteria did you use to choose your african name...? </div></div>
since dem sey nuff of we descend fram Ghana me choose one fram there. </div></div>
Ok,..that was why I asked,because surnames are chosen depending on which region of africa you are from,...however,I was always lead to believe that the majority of slaves who endured the middle passage,...(africa,england,west indies)...were primarily from west africa.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Panajar</div><div class="ubbcode-body">when mi decide fe change mi last name mi family tink me come a farrin come tun rasta ,but mi tell dem that me tun<span style="font-weight: bold"> Atheist </span>now dem really confuse . </div></div>
LOL@tun atheist......I think I`ve always been an aethist,..it just took me until very late teens to realise what I had always known.
Re: Is it ok for Afro jamaicans to keep using ******* last n
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: _______</div><div class="ubbcode-body">well what if massa is mi great granfawda an mi nuh know mi african name? </div></div>
in your case u might be alright fe keep the name dat u have, but since me and nuff yardie black like tar mi couldn't keep using that name that dem force pon mi people.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: neutral</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Panajar</div><div class="ubbcode-body">when mi decide fe change mi last name mi family tink me come a farrin come tun rasta ,but mi tell dem that me tun<span style="font-weight: bold"> Atheist </span>now dem really confuse . </div></div>
LOL@tun atheist......I think I`ve always been an aethist,..it just took me until very late teens to realise what I had always known. </div></div>
I have a lot of relatives who literally think that i must be the devil.They ask how can i turn against Christianity? when granny and everybody make sure we grow up in the church.I couldn't tell the truth out of respect for the elders,but the elder were not educated enough, to see through the bible and realize that it is mostly Jewish mythology.
Re: Is it ok for Afro jamaicans to keep using ******* last n
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SueSumba</div><div class="ubbcode-body">portuguese people alwaze tek mi fi angolan and stawt chat dem harrigle sclussihng linguage to me. wah name mi fi use? </div></div>
If u are serious ,there is a DNA test available ,which can help you to locate the region of Africa ,where your ancestors came from.
so now you have to contact Mr Lindo fi mek im update u fambly tree in jamaican genealogy to update de lineage fi reflect you new name.If you don't fight for what you deserve, you deserve what you get.
So you changed your name. BFD.
While you're at it, try changing your history books. Many Jamaicans of Chinese, Indian, European, Middle eastern ancestry had their names upon migrating to Jamaica during the 1800s and even earlier. Sometimes they had no choice but to accept the anglicized version of their names.