Somewhere along the fence he or she must have found an entry. As he/she s l o w l y makes its way back, I'd keep it as a pet.
Just be careful
<span style="font-style: italic">Is a turtle the right pet for your family?
Did you know that the sale of turtles less than 4 inches has been banned in the United States since 1975? This is because turtles pose a high risk of spreading disease, especially to children. The ban by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has prevented an estimated 100,000 cases of salmonellosis annually in children. This ban prohibiting the sale of small turtles likely remains the most effective public health action to prevent turtle-associated salmonellosis.
Despite the health risk, turtles have become very popular pets in recent years. Their slow movements and tough colorful shells may make them seem like the perfect family pet. However, turtles carry potentially dangerous bacteria called Salmonella. </span>
5 lb Turtle
2 Celery stalk; with leaves
2 md Carrots
1 lg Onion
2 Bay leaves
1 Garlic clove
Thyme, fresh; sprigs
Parsley, fresh; sprigs
Salt; to taste
Pepper; to taste
4 tb Butter
2 tb Flour
1/2 c Sherry
3 Egg; hard-cooked
Cut off the turtle's head and stand it upside-down to drain. After it has bled well, scrub with a stiff brush. Drop into a kettle of boiling water to cover, and cook until the skin and upper shell peel away easily. Discard this water and cover turtle with fresh water. Add the vegetables and herbs, and salt and pepper. Simmer gently for two hours then strain, reserving the broth. Remove shells and skin and pick out the meat, being careful not to break the gall sac (located in the liver). Cut the meat into small pieces and brown in butter. Blend in the flour, then the strained stock and simmer it until tender. To serve, pour into a tureen with the sherry and garnish with sliced eggs. If you prefer, float a few slices of egg on each plate of soup.
5 lb Turtle
2 Celery stalk; with leaves
2 md Carrots
1 lg Onion
2 Bay leaves
1 Garlic clove
Thyme, fresh; sprigs
Parsley, fresh; sprigs
Salt; to taste
Pepper; to taste
4 tb Butter
2 tb Flour
1/2 c Sherry
3 Egg; hard-cooked
Cut off the turtle's head and stand it upside-down to drain. After it has bled well, scrub with a stiff brush. Drop into a kettle of boiling water to cover, and cook until the skin and upper shell peel away easily. Discard this water and cover turtle with fresh water. Add the vegetables and herbs, and salt and pepper. Simmer gently for two hours then strain, reserving the broth. Remove shells and skin and pick out the meat, being careful not to break the gall sac (located in the liver). Cut the meat into small pieces and brown in butter. Blend in the flour, then the strained stock and simmer it until tender. To serve, pour into a tureen with the sherry and garnish with sliced eggs. If you prefer, float a few slices of egg on each plate of soup.
The Significance is that you have a neighbor who may be interested in reporting you to the city for keeping protected species in your home. Are you living in a very welcoming neighborhood?
They place old tube television and all sort of punishable stuff on my property when i moved here first, of course the town promptly send me notices.
and only after i prove that I could pay expensive attorneys did they withdraw,and change they tactics.
You may be up for a similar episodes from your very warm neighbors.
Just Take lots of pics and send a E/mail to the city animal catcher asking them to com e and remove it.... as a precaution. That is before you get the tickets.<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Pepper</div><div class="ubbcode-body">...if any, of a turtle showing up in your back yard?
My yard is totally fenced in, and I keep the gates locked at all times.
think: interesting, you live near a pond/lagoon/sea?
<span style="font-weight: bold">nope</span>
maybe is a neighbors pet
<span style="font-weight: bold">could be</span>
feed him some lettuce an si if him look tame.
<span style="font-weight: bold">me nuh have no lettuce, yuh tink him mite like callaloo instead</span>
is there a gap under your fence he could have come through? maybe dung in? check your perimeter
<span style="font-weight: bold">Me check, it look like him burrow and dig out under di odda side of fence, from me neighbor yard. Dem have all kine a sumting ovah deh, so is likely dem keep pet turtle</span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SoulPurpose</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Somewhere along the fence he or she must have found an entry. As he/she s l o w l y makes its way back, I'd keep it as a pet.
Just be careful
<span style="font-style: italic">Is a turtle the right pet for your family?
Did you know that the sale of turtles less than 4 inches has been banned in the United States since 1975? This is because turtles pose a high risk of spreading disease, especially to children. The ban by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has prevented an estimated 100,000 cases of salmonellosis annually in children. This ban prohibiting the sale of small turtles likely remains the most effective public health action to prevent turtle-associated salmonellosis.
Despite the health risk, turtles have become very popular pets in recent years. Their slow movements and tough colorful shells may make them seem like the perfect family pet. However, turtles carry potentially dangerous bacteria called Salmonella. </span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Kia</div><div class="ubbcode-body">send him back under the fence ., he will find his own way though.. </div></div>
Me not touching it. Him bettah figgah sumting out fi himself.
Him not too long come up on di patio and a knock pon di sliding glass door. Dyam brite.
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.