'I will never talk'
Daley said she witnessed her uncle being shot and tortured a few years ago and said up to this day, she has not gone to the police to give any information.
"I will never, ever talk," she vowed. "One funeral better than 10. Most of my family live in the same community, plus, I have two young children. I not going to put them at risk like that."
Daley added: "It's better one member of yuh family go, than yuh entire family get wipe out. Me know people inna my same area weh give evidence or go to the police and mek statement, and before dem reach home, dem house burn down, and if dem dare fi come back inna the community, dem a dead!" she declared.
Interestingly, <span style="font-weight: bold">Daley's father and partner are both members of the Jamaica Constabulary Force, but she is still adamant that she would never share information with law enforcers.</span>
According to Daley, she knows that the police are not to be trusted and so, even if she wanted to give a statement, she fears that the police would betray her trust.
"Police corrupt. Me know that for a fact, 'cause my father plant ganja and sell weed fi the area don," she said.
Twenty-year-old Orlando Powellechoed Daley's sentiments. He said a mistrust for the police by most residents served as fuel for the culture of silence.
"If most people inna di ghetto did know seh dem coulda trust the police, dem woulda risk it and talk, but that a nuh di reality," he argued.
"Most time when a man go to the police wid a report, di same police call back di don inna di area and tell him a who talk," Powell added.
He said to be branded as an informer in most Jamaican communities is sometimes worse than being called a criminal
Daley said she witnessed her uncle being shot and tortured a few years ago and said up to this day, she has not gone to the police to give any information.
"I will never, ever talk," she vowed. "One funeral better than 10. Most of my family live in the same community, plus, I have two young children. I not going to put them at risk like that."
Daley added: "It's better one member of yuh family go, than yuh entire family get wipe out. Me know people inna my same area weh give evidence or go to the police and mek statement, and before dem reach home, dem house burn down, and if dem dare fi come back inna the community, dem a dead!" she declared.
Interestingly, <span style="font-weight: bold">Daley's father and partner are both members of the Jamaica Constabulary Force, but she is still adamant that she would never share information with law enforcers.</span>
According to Daley, she knows that the police are not to be trusted and so, even if she wanted to give a statement, she fears that the police would betray her trust.
"Police corrupt. Me know that for a fact, 'cause my father plant ganja and sell weed fi the area don," she said.
Twenty-year-old Orlando Powellechoed Daley's sentiments. He said a mistrust for the police by most residents served as fuel for the culture of silence.
"If most people inna di ghetto did know seh dem coulda trust the police, dem woulda risk it and talk, but that a nuh di reality," he argued.
"Most time when a man go to the police wid a report, di same police call back di don inna di area and tell him a who talk," Powell added.
He said to be branded as an informer in most Jamaican communities is sometimes worse than being called a criminal