I have been approached by some people I trust recommending that I invest in a company from Jamaica that owns taxis and buses. I would like to have someone local check into the company and also tell me a little bit about how the taxi business works in Jamaica. If you think that you could help, let me know and provide an email address. I would be happy to pay for your time via PayPal. Thanks
Help With Research For Jamaican Investment
Re: Help With Research For Jamaican Investment
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: bloard</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I have been approached by some people I trust recommending that I invest in a company from Jamaica that owns taxis and buses. I would like to have someone local check into the company and also tell me a little bit about how the taxi business works in Jamaica. If you think that you could help, let me know and provide an email address. I would be happy to pay for your time via PayPal. Thanks </div></div>
govt policies change regularly that can leave anyone invested in public transport out in the cold.. ask a bredren name Ezroy Millwood. (Try google him, u may get some hits)
The life has been stifled out of most larger taxi and bus businesses by "robot" (illegal) taxis chiefly owned by police officers.. Having had a small taxi/charter bus business, mi can say that, yes, its a very cash rich business, but everyone has their hand in your pocket. The police, the drivers, the loaders, mechanics..
I have known many bus owners from in the 80s/90s, and while they were seen as "rich" business men bac in the days, today almost all are broke.
Personally I dont know who could be counted as "trusted" that could advise someone to invest in taxi business in Jamaica.
Do a research on the transportation industry in Jamaica and you'll realize unless you do some kind of real estate development investment or find a a niche, u simply being urged to jump ina an overly saturated, unstable, sector that it may be better investement to put u money under your matress.
PS. Find new "trusted" friends..
Thanks. A more general question that I have is whether cab drivers rent their cars from taxi companies by paying a daily fee or rate? In other words, do the taxi companies get a license to operate x number of cars in a certain area, buy the cars, then rent them to drivers for a certain amount per day? Not just pay the drivers a salary or wage.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: xKs</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: bloard</div><div class="ubbcode-body">I have been approached by some people I trust recommending that I invest in a company from Jamaica that owns taxis and buses. I would like to have someone local check into the company and also tell me a little bit about how the taxi business works in Jamaica. If you think that you could help, let me know and provide an email address. I would be happy to pay for your time via PayPal. Thanks </div></div>
govt policies change regularly that can leave anyone invested in public transport out in the cold.. ask a bredren name Ezroy Millwood. (Try google him, u may get some hits)
The life has been stifled out of most larger taxi and bus businesses by "robot" (illegal) taxis chiefly owned by police officers.. Having had a small taxi/charter bus business, mi can say that, yes, its a very cash rich business, but everyone has their hand in your pocket. The police, the drivers, the loaders, mechanics..
I have known many bus owners from in the 80s/90s, and while they were seen as "rich" business men bac in the days, today almost all are broke.
Personally I dont know who could be counted as "trusted" that could advise someone to invest in taxi business in Jamaica.
Do a research on the transportation industry in Jamaica and you'll realize unless you do some kind of real estate development investment or find a a niche, u simply being urged to jump ina an overly saturated, unstable, sector that it may be better investement to put u money under your matress.
PS. Find new "trusted" friends.. </div></div>
Could not put it better myself...
the other question does he have a right to live in Jamaica ?
The company is owned by a native Jamaican. As an investor, I'm being asked to purchase car(s) that the company will then rent to drivers. But I'll follow your advice and stay clear unless someone is willing to look into the specific company for me in exchange for payment.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: bloard</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Thanks. A more general question that I have is whether cab drivers rent their cars from taxi companies by paying a daily fee or rate? In other words, do the taxi companies get a license to operate x number of cars in a certain area, buy the cars, then rent them to drivers for a certain amount per day? Not just pay the drivers a salary or wage. </div></div> yes this is common practice...I know peoepl who are in the business...there can be difficulty collecting the fees however.When its hot in the jungle of peace I go swimming in the ocean of love.....
First i must tel you it is sky.
One set of My grand parents was in the bus transport business. long time ago.
Today is is a hundred more difficult to make a profit at that sort of business.
There is a 10 to 1 chance that you will lose your investment.
Since it is very difficult to monitor these vehicles. Think about a driver renting your vehicle and scraping it to build another similar car they bought as scrap.
everything goes, from high incidences of robbery.
They most favourable are a of transportaTION in Jamaica is the tourism.
Since they are less likely to be targeted by the potential customer for robbery. One thing is necessary in all vehicles in Jamaica is a Lo-0Jack type vehicle-locator,and a remote cut out switch, to demobilize the vehicles if the operator does not enter a code at certain intervals.
Yes it is that difficult.
I own only personal and private business vehicles, and all my units have Been equipped with these.
another thing is that be careful that the placements of these accessories are held confidential.
Well That is a long story.
they have been other discussions before regarding the same topic.
This may be found in the archives, if you so desire to look it up. and pt<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: board</div><div class="ubbcode-body">The company is owned by a native Jamaican. As an investor, I'm being asked to purchase car(s) that the company will then rent to drivers. But I'll follow your advice and stay clear unless someone is willing to look into the specific company for me in exchange for payment. </div></div>
I wouldn't touch it with a 10ft pole.
And I speak from weary experience.
My husband tried to do this from here in NY - after my staunch protests, begging, pleading, warnings ...
The entire debacle didn't even work for a full year - fell apart at the seams. He got burned.
Xks know of what he speaks.
All of the comments here have been very fair, honest and hepful. I think I need to utilise this site more. I'm moving to JA in 18 months and although excited, I'm also concerned about being 'burned'.