Re: Reneto for police commish??? Let's discuss this
Reneto Adams VS Owen Ellington
Owen Ellington
Shortly after arriving at Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF) headquarters in St Andrew yesterday, Owen Ellington settled behind his desk in the commissioner's office to start a busy day.
Ellington, 47, temporarily holds arguably the most challenging job in Jamaica.
The 30-year JCF veteran became acting commissioner on November 7, one week after Hardley Lewin resigned after two years as top cop.
Many consider the bespectacled Ellington a shoo-in to become Jamaica's third commissioner in six years.
On Monday, he issued a statement with a list of priorities. It contained long-standing issues which have become asterisks for police commissioners - reducing crime, upholding human rights and ridding the force of corrupt cops.
Urgent issues
They are issues the articulate Ellington says require urgent attention, no matter who is police commissioner.
"It's not about me or any individual, it's about the Jamaica Constabulary Force and a requirement that there be a continuity in the delivery of service," he said. "There can be no gap in how we conduct our business."
How the JCF conducts its business is a hot topic. Recently, Assistant Commissioner of Police Les Green spoke about rampant corruption within its ranks, while Prime Minister Bruce Golding hinted in Parliament that ineffective leadership cost Lewin his job.
According to police statistics, more than 1,200 homicides have been recorded in Jamaica in 2009, the sixth straight year murders have passed the 1,000 mark.
Ellington has a strong crime résumé, having headed the Area Four and St James police divisions, two of the country's most violent regions.
His previous position was in charge of the JCF's operations and crime unit.
He is aware of the impact runaway crime has had on citizens, most of whom are desperate for effective strategies to fight criminality.
Priorities
"What is going to be different is a reordering of priorities, by putting crime containment as number one and the restoration of public safety and confidence as number two, because these are links to the reduction in crime," he explained.
"We also have to accelerate the anti-corruption strategy because we are at what I regard a tipping point, where our best efforts are not going to deliver the kind of results we want if we are saddled by corruption," he added.
There have been multiple arrests of cops in the past three years, ranging from accepting bribes to questionable shootings. Weeding out rogue cops proved a feverish task for previous commissioners Trevor MacMillan, Francis Forbes, Lucius Thomas and Lewin.
Ellington believes a more aggressive vetting process of persons looking to re-enlist in the force, as well as prospective members, can significantly improve the image of the JCF.
"We have a full agreement between the high command and the representative organisations (in the force) for mandatory prescreening, perhaps even polygraphing of members as a precondition for re-enlistment," Ellington said.
"I am looking to mandatory screening and polygraphing of members coming into the organisa-tion, and I will certainly include pre-screening and polygraphing for members considered for promo-tion," he continued.
The Private Sector Organisation of Jamaica (PSOJ) has worked with the police on several anti-crime initiatives. PSOJ President Joseph Matalon said the next commissioner of police has a tough task.
"One of the new commissioner's biggest challenges will be the constraint on government resources. That can affect reform programmes like training and recruitment, which is a problem right now," Matalon told The Gleaner.
Young admirer
The JCF Ellington said he admired as a youngster in rural Glengoffe, St Catherine, bears little resemblance to the current force.
The third of eight children born to a builder/farmer father and a mother who was a homemaker, Ellington said he always wanted to be a police officer.
"What attracted me was the cleanliness of the policemen in my district. They were clean, neatly dressed," he recalled.
"I liked the idea of being in uniform."
Along with two of his friends, Ellington sat the test to enter the force as a 16-year-old in his school uniform. Two years later, he was accepted.
Ellington has also seen the JCF's transformation from an organisation rewarding journeymen to promoting younger members, male and female. He is one of the beneficiaries of that new order, moving rapidly up the ranks during the last decade.
Ellington holds a master's degree in national security and strategic studies from the University of the West Indies. A self-proclaimed bookworm, he says he relaxes to African music, with legendary South African trumpeter Hugh Masekela and Ladysmith Black Mambazo among his favourites.
There will be little time for dancing if Owen Ellington is appointed police commissioner.
In the interim, he is seeking to restore public confidence in the JCF's fight against crime
WEB USERS WANT ADAMS - Large Facebook group wants him as 'Co
WEB USERS WANT ADAMS - Large Facebook group wants him as 'Commish'
With the nation in need of a top cop and applications already being tendered for the post of police commissioner, one group has taken the 'campaign' to the Internet with a web page advocating that the task be handed to former Senior Superintendent of Police, Reneto Adams.
The web page entitled 'Adams for Commissioner 2010' is featured on the popular social networking site, Facebook.com and has a growing membership of over 2,200 members, a figure that jumps by large increments every 30 minutes.
The creator of the group, who is not affiliated with Adams, said the forum was started on Friday night at about 10pm.
Since then she says the numbers are staggering. "I'm not the first one to start an Adams support group, but I'm overwhelmed by the numbers," she said. "I am a Jamaican who lives in Jamaica and is tired of the level of crime here and want to see an end to it ... . I believe that he (Adams) has the passion that can strategically bring that change."
The young woman said the page was created just to share that view. Surprisingly, a large number of other persons with Internet access share that view, including the man of the hour himself, Reneto Decardova Valentino Adams.
Speaking with THE STAR yesterday, the retired cop and hopeful police commissioner said that he was delighted after actually visiting the site on Monday night.
"I'm very excited where the website and numbers are concerned," Adams said. "When people think you would be a good commissioner it's a good thing. It shows that you have their support and co-operation. Once you have that then the intelligence will come."
controversial lawman
The controversial lawman said that while he is not bragging, the members in the support group is coming from just a small per cent of the populace with Internet access. He said the issue of him being appointed in the position is also a hot topic in barber shops, hair salons and markets.
Asked if he was confident he would be successful with his application, Adams responded: "If they really want a commissioner to get the job done, then look in my direction. (However) If you want a commissioner that is ceremonial and just sits in the office, don't look in my direction ... because I will be out there with my men on operations. Not saying I would be out there all the time."
The lawman stressed that no Jamaican is satisfied hearing that the police caught the man who robbed or murdered a relative, despite whatever closure that may bring. "Prevention is my thing. Jamaicans want to hear that the police prevented that crime from happening," he said.
Adams said that although his track record of pursuing criminals is outstanding there are factors that might prevent him from being chosen for the post.
"For one, I wouldn't be protecting any hierarchy of anyone ... there are politics and politicians who may not want to see me as commissioner because they won't be able to have me as they would want to," he said. "Then there is plain envy and those local and international criminal or human rights groups that may also object. For those reasons I may not be selected."
The outgoing commissioner Rear Admiral Hardley Lewin tendered his resignation last month following weeks of speculation that the crime chief and the Government were at odds. The resignation ended a two-year run for the retired army man and marked the end of the tenure for the nation's 26th police commissioner.
And don't we all remember the results??
Remember the look, very low murder rate, not to mention crime levels that cause most of us to move back?
Sorry that was a dream. Now tell me about the results you referring to??
Did his murderous rampage reduced the murder rate to as low as detroit?/ what about Atlanta? New York? Louisiana?
No?
Beirut?? Anywhere some where?
Did he reduce the murder rate, eve after we subtract those that was murdered by him??
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistaCtry</div><div class="ubbcode-body">is who did say, "you cant solve murder with murder" - well, dem no know wha dem a talk bout~~
Adams brings results! </div></div>
<span style="font-weight: bold">Officers back Ellington for Commish</span>
Published: Wednesday | November 11, 2009
The Police Officers' Association (POA), which is all officers above the rank of inspector, threw their support behind the acting commissioner of police in a solidifying move to rally support for him and his Strategic Priorities which he outlined in a news release on Monday.
Superintendent Michael James, chairman of the Police Officers' Association, posits that he and his association think that ACP Owen Ellington is the right man for the job.
According to James, Ellington possesses the experience and management skills which would serve him well, if given the opportunity.
POSITIVE IMPACT
Given the smooth nature of the transition without speculation and falling out within the ranks, the POA says it expects and looks forward to working with Ellington.
When asked about the effect his appoint-ment has had on the force, James said "His appointment has impacted positively on the morale of the force in general and the men in particular, as most recently their morale was a bit low, coming on the heels of some unfortunate comments by ACP Les Green re corrupt cops in the force."
James also pointed out that the POA would support anyone given the job.
According to the POA chairman, the organisation would be ensuring that the policing measures and policies outlined by Ellington would be well communicated throughout the force, and that there would be strategic moves to ensure the plans work.
<object width="425" height="350"> <param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/ntHYOONHsc0&feature=related"></param> <param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param> <embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ntHYOONHsc0&feature=related" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="350"> </embed></object>
We want justice! Give us Reneto Adams!
Thursday, November 12, 2009
The Observer's website is the hottest spot these days for readers' comments on major news stories. In That's Just My View!, the Observer gives you a taste of some of these online views on one of this week's biggest stories:
Adams wants to be top cop (as reported by HG Helps)
Adams. if anyone thinks that he is not the person for the job call a referendum
. Give the real big man Adams a chance and stop taking the British police here. Apparently their culture is different from us and we need a tough crime-fighter for these heartless criminals. If the human rights organisations are against this they need to be placed on frontline duties with these hoodlums and see what these police face on a daily basis - kim [email protected]
. Absolute madness! - JESS
. Do the gunmen's bosses, corrupt policemen and corrupt politicians fear Mr Adams? Nobody has asked him what he will do to rein in the white-collar criminals. Wait until you hear his answer before you regard him as Jamaica's Messiah. - Lenny [email protected]
. We Jamaicans seem not to mind people being murdered, just as long as we know and support the people doing it, be they in uniform or not. - Alrick [email protected]
. Adams for the JOB; he is our only hope. - Courtney Chen [email protected]
. We want Adams. - Otis
. Yes, I too say please bring back Reneto Adams. Remember his words to the gunmen? "The gun or the Bible". If you don't know Reneto, do a search on him. He's an excellent crime fighter and a patriotic Jamaican. - My vote for Reneto
. Why didn't Mr Adams stay in the force? His hands will be tied by the two-party system the same way his feet were tied by the USA, Canada and England. The only man RIGHT NOW that will be effective is the one and only Radcliff Lewis; he is the only one that will do a good job that is not politically corrupt. - jack frost [email protected]
. A group of Jamaicans in Charleston, South Carolina say we want Adams to be the next commissioner of police. He is the man who can make the change. We say Adams! - jamaican abroad [email protected]
. ...We do not need Adams. He cannot do it... Give the job to Keith 'Trinity' Gardner. This is an assistant police commissioner who knows the techniques of police work and how to command and get respect. No one else but Trinity, please.
. Mr Adams has too much questionable shadows surrounding his leadership. We need someone who truly understands our society and is willing to take a more non-violent approach to our problems. - worrell Servis [email protected]
. The only people who don't want Mr Adams are the bad man and the licky, licky politicians and cops. Jamaicans should be thankful that Adams is willing to come forward with his offer to serve the country. Try him for two years and see what happens. Believe mi yuh will see a difference. - Reader
. We don't need no sophisticated talk or argument right now, this is war the criminal them declare on the people of Jamaica. We need a warrior to lead the force and that is Mr Adams. - Ivan
. It doesn't matter who the next top cop is. As long as the police force not using wiretapping and other intelligence to fight crime, nothing gonna change - 13 [email protected]
. Give Adams the job. He will make the country a better place to live in. I'm in America right now. With the crime rate still going up, I'm not coming back. I'm serious. The country is going from bad to worse. Adams, please help us. - jamrock [email protected]
. 10000000000000000% support for foreign. Mi need fi feel safe when mi return fi vacation. - Mike [email protected]
. Mr Adams, indeed! Most feared by all
criminals and gunmen. - Tom Rollins [email protected]
. Yes!!!!!!!!!!! Finally Mr Adams (the right man 4 tha JOB) - Ms Sunshine
. This is the second time Mr Adams has shown interest in the commissioner job and they are side-tracking him. He is the best candidate for the top cop job in Jamaica right now, based on the rate at which criminals are taking over the island. I hope the Police Service Commission gives Mr Reneto Adams the job to put a dent in the minds of all the criminals in JA. - notch [email protected]
. If anyone thinks that ADAMS is not the person for the job call a referendum, then you would see funding coming from even the human rights groups. I strongly suggest that Mr Adams' sperm, DNA and stem cells be gathered by the government for cloning purposes. I was surprised when a lot of fuss was recently made about awards for life savers and nothing was done to award Reneto for saving the lives of us all. The only problem is that any government that appoints Adams, or runs him as a political candidate, will never lose an election ever, and the people should have a choice to change a government easily. To Mr Adams: If you are not chosen, get nominated even as an independent candidate and I would get rich on a wager that you win hands down, without campaigning. Sir, everybody without an axe to grind is tired of CRIME (for crying out loud) - A L SMALLING [email protected]
. Whether it is PNP gunmen or JLP gunmen that gets killed, who cares? Every gunman that gets killed is one less gunman on the island and one less gunman to worry about. Rise, Mr Adams, you are the chosen one to deliver Jamaica from the evil hands of the gunmen. - 10++
. Adams should get a try to see what he got. Ellington is young and can come after, but Adams doesn't have too much time and I know he has some good ideas. Definitely Adams at this moment. - scatta [email protected]
. Neither, Adams nor Ellington will get the job. DCP Jeneve Bent is the most senior cop and should get the job. She has acted in the position in the past. - Gary [email protected]
. Finding a suitable commissioner of police for Jamaica is a big challenge for the Police Services Commission. I verily believe that there are many suitable persons within the police force who may well fill the position and do a good job other than the persons here mentioned. We must recall to mind history. When David was anointed to be King over Israel, he was not a very popular person. My point: let's not hurry and make expensive mistakes. - Don Ellis [email protected]
. Yes, I think Adams is an excellent choice. I trust him and a lot of people have confidence in him. Too much crime; extortion needs to be abolished. - Carmen Watkins [email protected]
. Any appointment the Golding administration makes for the position, which fails, or comes up short of full expectations, will be seen as just one nail short of the lid fully closed on Mr Golding's political coffin! The only noticeable activities we've seen from his administration are dismissals, firings, questionable resignations, dissolving and renaming of boards, speculations, promises, and name-calling (blame games). There were talks of a 'witch hunt' and this seems the trend! Political cleansing? Is it going to be five years of the same? When's the promised "Governance" going to start? - Sidekick
. Why not bring Wyatt Earp back from the dead? Any cop who can dress like he is in the heart of winter in a hot country like Jamaica is fooling himself and the like-minded! Maybe he is watching too many American movies. - sugarstick [email protected]
. I think we need a UNIT of three commissioners, not one. Crime is too big a monster for one commissioner! The more important question is: DO U THINK THE REGULAR CITIZEN CAN DECIDE WHO BECOMES COMMISSIONER? Don't make me laugh. Did they support the only person that brought real change to JA? I speak of former Commissioner Trevor MacMillan. Do we think the Government wants someone that will cure crime? LOL. The Government is more concerned with SWINE FLU rather than the MAJOR EPIDEMIC of CRIME. JA needs to see a force that is INDEPENDENT, focused on REDUCING crimes WHEREVER they occur, be it blue or white collar! Time to get smart people! - BADANGEL [email protected]
. We don't need another "competent administrator" at this time. We have to fight fire with fire. Give Adams the run. - Farruk [email protected]
. Reneto Saddam Adams must be protected from himself. - Girrygarry [email protected]
- Desmond Allen
[email protected]
Selecting Reneto Adams as police commissioner
Thursday, November 12, 2009
We are watching with a great deal of interest the clamouring, especially online, but also on the radio talk shows, for the return of former senior superintendent of police, Mr Reneto Adams, to the Jamaica Constabulary Force, this time as commissioner of police.
Reports that over 2,000 people, within a 30-minute period, registered their support for the controversial personality on a blog set up for the purpose of backing his announced intention to apply for the top cop job, are instructive.
One gets the sense, however, that the odds are not in favour of Mr Adams getting the position. The truth is that the job of police commissioner calls for far more than a cop who is willing to stare down criminals, as crucial as that is in today's crime-torn Jamaica.
Mr Adams has no doubt captured the imagination and won the admiration of the Jamaican populace, by his courage on the frontline. People have always loved and supported brave cops who seemed willing to put their lives on the line in service of their compatriots. And he follows in that line of 'super cops'.
On the other hand, Mr Adams' detractors have often painted him as a loose cannon whose tongue could not be bridled; a man who would unwisely challenge any and all, including his very superiors in the police force.
So while Jamaicans are clearly anxious to see a cop on the frontline, trading bullets with gunmen and hopefully putting them on the run, the question is: Can that be enough to lead a police force, of which that is only one aspect?
The fight against crime is increasingly calling for more brains than brawn.
A good deal of the criminals of today have access to vast resources, including the ability to hire some of the smartest criminal lawyers and accountants, bribe senior politicians and public officials and recruit whatever firepower they desire.
In other words, crime is getting more and more organised. Therefore, many of the murders which have driven so much fear into the citizenry, are ordered by the criminal masterminds. Eliminating the murderers who carry out their bidding is not the end-all. They will merely recruit more from the ready supply in our teeming inner-cities.
So we expect that the police commissioner must be able to have a command of the vast expanse of modern, technology-driven crime-fighting strategies, based on policies promulgated by the legislators and in keeping with our laws and Constitution.
Policemen, like Mr Adams, must be appreciated for their selfless service. But put in the job of commissioner, they might find themselves completely at sea and of no use to even their greatest admirers.
One, of course, wonders how many brave policemen like Mr Adams are identified early in their life in the Constabulary for training that could place them on a trajectory to the top job. Imagine what the former SSP might have become, had he been so targeted.
The Police Service Commission, which is now sifting applications for the commissioner's job, will be torn, we imagine, when they go through Mr Adams'. They will want to appoint someone the masses want in the job. But can they?