<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: turtledude</div><div class="ubbcode-body">...iz awready advertizin Xmas stuff. Nex deh be advertizin valentine day Dec 1?
<span style="font-style: italic"> an mi try to live one day at a time</span> </div></div>
Where have yuh bin?
Haven't ye heard the "tidings of great joy?"
Economic joy, that is...
Yes, mi si Xmas decorations all ovah di place, a whey mi did si some? Ah yes, innah TJ Maxc tuh...dem did seh, dem agguh staawt herlie dis year, fi put di peeps in a "spending frame of mind" fi stimulate di heh-conomie..
....aaah, yes, an Century 21...good ting mi went back lass week, some sintings whey mi did si fram bout 3 weeks aback, mi ketch di lass few...di peeps dem a buy hup...whole heep a touriss...an many tings fly off dishelves...
btw, when mi did liff a yaawd, dem did staawt sing X-mas carols from late October...before the beginning of Advent, an ...mi luv hit Dude, far some reeezon[s]..such as... Chrismuss seem tuh lass longah, since innah di States, Chrissmuss ends on Boxing err Xmas Day..
guess mi "humbug", or born 200 yrs too late. I membah when wi sometimes used tuh "make" presents. No credit card debt. No crashed economy. No economic junk. Jus santa an a few hot buttered rums!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: turtledude</div><div class="ubbcode-body">guess mi "humbug", or born 200 yrs too late. I membah when wi sometimes used tuh "make" presents. No credit card debt. No crashed economy. No economic junk. Jus santa an a few hot buttered rums! </div></div>
Indeed !!
Worthy of note...I also remember when we used to make presents...pillow case and sheet set, embroidered...sometimes took a whole year to make...crochet place mats and di works, baked items like pudding, or a bottle of rum punch.. and yuh put yuh heart and soul and LOVE in the making, hoping to please...those days are gone...plastic and disposables rule the day now..
Some peeps juss put sinting innah wan pretty paper or box, hiff dem like it FINE !!..hiff dem noh like ie, tek ie back tuh di store..
::fuggadahbout di credit card bills::
Now dem seh, hiff yuh still a pay haff lass year bills, den Xmas shapping dis year is nat fi yuh !!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: dahJahPawtTwo</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> pan xmas </div></div>
Yuh haff a point, fyah yes, pan Xmas, but not Christ-Mas...we need to<span style="font-weight: bold"> put the "Christ" back into Christmas...</span>and eliminate the "Commercial-ism" that has taken over...thanks to greedy non-Christians...err sorry, thanks to greedy, out of touch money grabbers.
Yuh haff a point, fyah yes, pan Xmas, but not Christ-Mas...we need to<span style="font-weight: bold"> put the "Christ" back into Christmas...</span>and eliminate the "Commercial-ism" that has taken over...thanks to greedy non-Christians...err sorry, thanks to greedy, out of touch money grabbers. </div></div>
How yuh a guh put supm back inna supm dat did nevah een deh?
Yuh tink seh the Christ would go along wid dem tingya?
Smaddy need fi kno de choo date instead a use dat which 20 some odda Christ like ppl bawn pan de same date and share de smae traits.
Yuh haff a point, fyah yes, pan Xmas, but not Christ-Mas...we need to<span style="font-weight: bold"> put the "Christ" back into Christmas...</span>and eliminate the "Commercial-ism" that has taken over...thanks to greedy non-Christians...err sorry, thanks to greedy, out of touch money grabbers. </div></div>
Smaddy need fi kno de choo date instead a use dat which 20 some odda Christ like ppl bawn pan de same date and share de smae traits. </div></div>
Amen
Putting Christ Back into Christmas
Every December as Christmas decorations are displayed we may observe a slogan that says: “Put Christ Back Into Christmas.” To put Christ back into Christmas assumes that He was once a part of it. It may assume that He advocated its observance or that it was observed by the early Christian church. The following references prove that neither position is true:
1). Well respected Bible scholars admit that Jesus was not born on or near December 25. That date was adopted as the birthday of Jesus because of its popularity as a festive season with pagans. The actual date of Jesus’ birth is unknown and there are no New Testament instructions for believers to commemorate it.
2). The observance of Christmas as a Christian festival was unknown until the fourth century — a long time after the New Testament was written:
“The observance of December 25, only dates from the fourth century and is due to assimilation with the Mithraic festival of the birthday of the sun.”10
3). The pagan elements incorporated into the celebration of Christmas have overpowered its intended purpose as a celebration of Jesus’ birthday:
“Christmas was generally celebrated in the West only after the triumph of Constantine, when the time of Christ’s birth was reckoned with the day of the Unconquered Sun on December 25.”11
“The pagan Saturnalia and Brumalia were too deeply entrenched in popular custom to be set aside by Christian influence. . . . The pagan festival with its riot and merrymaking was so popular that Christians were glad of an excuse to continue its celebration with little change in spirit and in manner.”12
Put Christ back into Christmas? It can not be done! Christmas is a borrowed relic from the heathen scene, predating our Lord’s birth. Christ cannot be put back into a celebration He did not originate or sanction. .
i love me some eggnog and some sorrel and some curry goat and some liquor...mi granny use to buy har crate a beer, soda and malta
mi like yard xmas more dan farrin xmas...mi love gran mawkit and di all nite pawty pan di beach and by baxing day u hear all who did a grine pan long wall or dunga park or backa plaza or backa court house
erm....but i tink this thread was discussing the negatives of xmas mek mi come out wid mi jingle bells singing self.
Smaddy need fi kno de choo date instead a use dat which 20 some odda Christ like ppl bawn pan de same date and share de smae traits. </div></div>
Uh Uh...look wha yuh staawt...
Mi cum aawn 'ere [2000] an si yuh, an fram everybodie a poas bout Christmas, yuh always cum and seh di same ting, bout when Jezaz did baawn an all a dat...an den annuh nutt'n new far yuh noh celebrate ie....you R so predictable on this, Mass Dahjah.
Is common knowledge that the Western celebration of Christ-mas is based on the time that the three "Wise Men" had found him, or soh dem seh...[aldoah him did still wrapped in swaddling clothes...when him shuddah bi baby a creep ]
As for mi, everyday is Christ-Mas...but dat is nat di issue 'ere....it is the "commercialism" that has overtaken the Spirituality...for want of a bettah word... of so beautiful and welcoming a Season...the time of the birth of the Saviour.
So wheddah him baawn yessideh, lass week or ten thousand years ago shudd'n really matta;; di "commercialists" fi gwwan go pandah dem wares at anodda time of di year, [I suggest a kwiet month like March.. [mi cuddah use di day haff den] and leff di believers fi celebrate without all of that...hence, putting Christ back in Christmas is very appropos fi di true meaning...tek hout di commercialism and RE-introduce the true meaning of the Saviah's birth...
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: turtledude</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Big sale on artificial trees goin on too! </div></div>
<span style="font-size: 20pt">WAIEE!!!...MI BELLIE A HAT MI.. </span>
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.