Re: CHINESE ATTITUDES TO BLACKS
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlackStar</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-style: italic">my interest in dem has to do wid dem an di wholesales etc in Ja..true, dem transforming the landscape wid di building but u can tell dem attitude by one so so action...yes mi harp pon it but it is telling...
di chiney man who felt he was in his right to box di Mayor of Kingston personifies their attitude towards Ja n their investment there....di way dem treat dem workers , ah sah...dis is not Missa Chin of times past</span> </div></div>You're right, evan. I just figure none of that really matters. For example, I don't think Europeans particularly "like" Chinese either. Yet when foreigners invest in China, the Chinese government insists upon and obtains technology transfer and job creation for the local workforce. End of story. No fuss and bother about what Europeans think of them, rather let's benefit from the relationship as much as possible.
We can't change people's thinking, nor can we change our color, but we can change our way of doing business. The latter affects the well-being of Africans and the diaspora more than disdain that others hold of African-ness.
It's all about <span style="font-size: 11pt"><span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'"><span style="color: #006600">M O N E Y</span></span></span>. </div></div>
so true Blackstar, it is all about money and unfortunately those in power in Jamaica, hold the average Jamaican in as much disdain as these Chinese n odda investors they r courting supposedly to create jobs....
can u imagine the conversation re the lazinees, etc of the Jcan worker between the two groups....wi know dat di tapanaris yaadie hold di view n seh it to the worker all di time, n wi know how dem wi seh it to create a common ground wid di investor him a try create a bond wid...some ting along the line of, 'well, u can get dem fi wuk fi likkle n nutten' etc...am not being farfetched at all...there r some tings in Ja dat seem to transfer generation to generation n none more glaringly dan the attitude of those who have dem hands on di rudder of di big ship
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: BlackStar</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><span style="font-style: italic">my interest in dem has to do wid dem an di wholesales etc in Ja..true, dem transforming the landscape wid di building but u can tell dem attitude by one so so action...yes mi harp pon it but it is telling...
di chiney man who felt he was in his right to box di Mayor of Kingston personifies their attitude towards Ja n their investment there....di way dem treat dem workers , ah sah...dis is not Missa Chin of times past</span> </div></div>You're right, evan. I just figure none of that really matters. For example, I don't think Europeans particularly "like" Chinese either. Yet when foreigners invest in China, the Chinese government insists upon and obtains technology transfer and job creation for the local workforce. End of story. No fuss and bother about what Europeans think of them, rather let's benefit from the relationship as much as possible.
We can't change people's thinking, nor can we change our color, but we can change our way of doing business. The latter affects the well-being of Africans and the diaspora more than disdain that others hold of African-ness.
It's all about <span style="font-size: 11pt"><span style="font-family: 'Arial Black'"><span style="color: #006600">M O N E Y</span></span></span>. </div></div>
so true Blackstar, it is all about money and unfortunately those in power in Jamaica, hold the average Jamaican in as much disdain as these Chinese n odda investors they r courting supposedly to create jobs....
can u imagine the conversation re the lazinees, etc of the Jcan worker between the two groups....wi know dat di tapanaris yaadie hold di view n seh it to the worker all di time, n wi know how dem wi seh it to create a common ground wid di investor him a try create a bond wid...some ting along the line of, 'well, u can get dem fi wuk fi likkle n nutten' etc...am not being farfetched at all...there r some tings in Ja dat seem to transfer generation to generation n none more glaringly dan the attitude of those who have dem hands on di rudder of di big ship