Re: Do you remember corporal punishment in Jamaican schools?
sister cane me one time...i think it was three lick in mi hand miggle.
But not all kids got off that lightly. The boys tended to have a harder time of it, and it was the older teacher (that was preparing us for common entrance exam) that tended to hit first and ask questions after.
Regarding spanking in the USA, I didn't realize that it was still allowed until some months ago that i read an article about how a school in ___(a southern state, can't remember which one, right now) was doing so much better, since they started spanking again. Parents had to "opt in" , if they wanted to give the school admin the option to spank their kids.
I found out that although allowed in my state, the school board in my county has banned the practice.
sister cane me one time...i think it was three lick in mi hand miggle.
But not all kids got off that lightly. The boys tended to have a harder time of it, and it was the older teacher (that was preparing us for common entrance exam) that tended to hit first and ask questions after.
Regarding spanking in the USA, I didn't realize that it was still allowed until some months ago that i read an article about how a school in ___(a southern state, can't remember which one, right now) was doing so much better, since they started spanking again. Parents had to "opt in" , if they wanted to give the school admin the option to spank their kids.
I found out that although allowed in my state, the school board in my county has banned the practice.

I thought I had it bad from my granmere when I was a kid. She used to let me have it with a wooden spoon on my a*zz she never hit me anywhere else. Strange though, no one else was allowed to spank me not even my Mom she made that clear. Her words were "I have custody of her" I think if any teacher had hit me in school my granmere would prolly demolish the entire block and skin the teach alive. 
I was mad as hell after each licks. I remember when I was sixteen she came with the wooder spoon to give me a licking, I guess temporary insanity took over because I wrestled her for that spoon and proceeded to rain some licks pon her...lawd
after I was finished I was so ashamed
blastid eediat... I dont think she ever forgave my Mom for marrying a black man,anyway I still have a lot to be thankful to her for. she is dead but she made sure I am financially independent albeit with a clause in dey