Congrats to Hon Andrew Holness
S H O W E R...ring di belllllllll
And Mrs Holness..... First Husband and wife team in Parliament...? Poor Andrew.... If shi get in deh cabinet....
I am most interested in who is MOE... Who will continue the education reforms started under the last labour government and continue d with Thwaites...
What was turn out?
47.7 % voter turn out.......
In other word we have a government that was voted for by a mere 26 % of the electorate...
to quote Gil Scot Heron..
"
Well, the first thing I want to say is: Mandate my ***!
Because it seems as though we've been convinced that 26% of the registered voters, not even 26% of the American people, but 26% of the registered voters form a mandate or a landslide. 21% voted for Skippy and 3, 4% voted for somebody else who might have been running."
spot the Garrison.
I know Tuffy knows the Garrisons by area I dont....... To me any vote where the win is greater than 70% is a garrison...
/http://election.jamaicaobserver.com/
ST. ANDREW SOUTH WESTERN (98 of 98 boxes) JLP VICTOR ANTHONY HYDE 700 PNP PORTIA SIMPSON MILLER 10822 DECLARED
ST. ANDREW SOUTHERN (87 of 87 boxes) PNP OMAR LLOYD DAVIES 9431 DECLARED JLP DENNIS ANTHONY MESSIAS 1224
KINGSTON WESTERN (89 of 89 boxes) JLP DESMOND MCKENZIE 9329 DECLARED PNP JOSEPH GARFIELD WITTER 1593 IND DEBORAH SOPHIA GOLDING 183 MGPPP ARLINGTON ANTHONY SEATON 29 ST. ANDREW SOUTHERN (87 of 87 boxes) PNP OMAR LLOYD DAVIES 9431 DECLARED JLP DENNIS ANTHONY MESSIAS 1224 KINGSTON EAST AND PORT ROYAL (96 of 96 boxes) PNP PHILLIP FEANNY PAULWELL 7843 DECLARED JLP HEADLEY BURNETT WILSON 1664
- Tax compliance....is Jamaica's greatest challenge
- JPS must show how many people in each constituency pays for electricity
- Water commission the same
- Continue of the education reforms that started under the previous labour govement and continued under Thwaites.....
Originally posted by Wahalla View Post47.7 % voter turn out.......
In other word we have a government that was voted for by a mere 26 % of the electorate...
"
http://jamaica-elections.com/general...ultsummary.php
tut tut...the sour grapes showing Wahalla...bout 'mere 26%' voted them in...what happen to the much touted 'every vote counts' that is the usual statement re using the franchise...does that mean that 74% refused to vote for PNP n stayed home...feh....SHOWER....a di fuss time mi openly align n support any party to the extent I did this go rung...n I make no bones that the hypocrisy re Mr Holness house galvanized me...
Peter use if ha sound system..so " ring the alarm , anodda sound bwoy dying" ( to quote dat old reggae hit)
Originally posted by remo View PostAs a staunch PNPite(is that a word?)...Good luck Labourites.....You could make my day by leaving Charles and Henry out to pasture,Bring some new and fresh people in
Now the real work begins.
I truly believe that social media created the atmosphere for change that dominated the national debate. You articulated your dreams for Jamaica, and, most importantly, you acted on the promise of a better future by turning out to vote. You should be proud of what you have accomplished. This is your victory.
However, do not be complacent. Let us continue to participate with our voices and votes. We must now follow through on our promise to Jamaica that this was not only about changing governments, but changing how government works for you. It will not be government as usual.
In the coming days we will need your help in applying creative and innovative solutions to our challenges. After all accountability and performance is the cost of victory. Stay faithful to our commitments.
Finally, let me be clear: We have not won a prize to show off and reflect upon. We have been entrusted with a solemn oath to Jamaica and we expect the Jamaican people to hold us to account.
Honourable Andrew Holness
THE 2016 General Election is now history with an historic win being recorded by the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP).
The triumphant victory of the JLP reversed a 21-42 seat deficit in 2011 to a 33-30 win in 2016, was achieved, in part, by the work, appeal and determination of a bunch of new candidates plus the contribution of party stalwarts.
The following represents the
Jamaica Observer’s biggest winners list
Floyd Green (St Elizabeth South Western) — The St Elizabeth home-grown lad made an immediate impact ever since his ascendency as the JLP’s candidate caretaker for the St Elizabeth South Western constituency. He successfully used strong presence in the constituency, allied by a robust road programme, to beat incumbent Hugh Buchanan. In doing so, he earned (preliminary count) a victory margin of 2,088 — one of the largest ever in this notorious weathervane constituency. Green was particularly strong in the regular and social media where he often espoused the plight of his constituents. Green is without doubt a rising star on the country’s political scene.
Juliet Cuthbert Flynn (St Andrew West Rural) — This Olympian, who won silver in the 1992 Barcelona Olympics, earned her golden moment with an emphatic victory over Paul Buchanan. Cuthbert Flynn achieved her goal while being pregnant at age 51. It was a precious moment for her, which underscored the worth of a popular and well known newcomer. For her this is the start of a marathon and a sprint.
Robert Montague (St Mary Western) — He went into the political doldrums after a bad and unexpected loss in 2011. He has learnt well from the shock defeat and has now rallied to restart his political life in Parliament. Indeed, it was a triumph of determination for Montague.
Juliet Holness (St Andrew East Rural) — Despite the burden of a late start to her candidacy in the constituency, storming attacks on her husband and herself regarding the legitimacy of their Beverly Hill home, and the media spotlight occasioned on her for being the wife of the leader of the JLP, Juliet Holness brought home St Andrew East Rural. She did so against another high-profile candidate in Imani Duncan-Price. It was a win based on faith and an absolute commitment to the leader of the JLP and the party itself. Juliet Holness worked hard in the hills of the constituency and reached her summit with confidence and pride.
Marlene Malahoo-Forte (St James West Central) — She defied the odds and pulled off quite an upset against a junior minister. Malahoo-Forte did not give up after defeat in Westmoreland and, although placed in a worrisome constituency, was able to ‘judge’ the situation well, and in the end came out triumphant.
Alando Terrelonge (St Catherine East Central) — A lawyer with an affinity for handling testing causes, Alando Terrelonge worked well in this new constituency and made his presence felt in the media on behalf of the people whose votes he sought.
Fayval Williams (St Andrew East) — From the day she won the position of constituency caretaker, Williams was ever present among the people. Another who used social and traditional media to her advantage to shore up strong political support, Williams was a part of the JLP’s economic team and is known for her knowledge of finance. She may well end up with a ministerial position in the Ministry of Finance and Planning.
The percentage is slightly off from 2011. The Last Three Elections (except for 2011) have produced almost the same seat margins even with extra Constituencies.Originally posted by Wahalla View Post47.7 % voter turn out.......
http://jamaica-elections.com/general...ultsummary.php