Re: Shoot-out between cops and robbers in Ocho Rios
This would be funny if it weren't a bold face untruth.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: evanovitch</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
This is the third attempted robbery in Ocho Rios in two years.
The last incident was foiled at the National Commercial Bank earlier this year.
Look. Three men were shot and killed in a busy area in Ocho Rios. This was a gun fight in broad daylight. The repercussions for the already weak tourism economy will be devastating.
<span style="font-style: italic">Fret til mi WEAK yesstideh!</span></span>
Finally, not until around 5 in the evening here, was I able to reach my Aunt.
She was walking along Main Street down toward the post office when she heard the shots.
She was frightened out of her mind and drop her cellie and some mail. She quickly picked up the mail but couldn’t catch the phone before it dropped down into a drain.
We couldn’t reach her all day – no one could but finally, someone was able to get thru to her place of business and we got it all settled.
Not pretty.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Look. Three men were shot and killed in a busy area in Ocho Rios. This was a gun fight in broad daylight. The repercussions for the already weak tourism economy will be devastating. </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Look. Three men were shot and killed in a busy area in Ocho Rios. This was a gun fight in broad daylight. The repercussions for the already weak tourism economy will be devastating. </div></div> <span style="font-size: 20pt">not </span>
Your auntie and possibly you are in a dream world.
When was the last time they rob any place when it is closed?
these places are open in the days and they have been robbed regularly, and it is always done when they are open.
No wonder they still believe that the country can get rid of the murderers without legal fire arms.
They are in a dream world.
Gun men is going to rob a place when it is closed.
And will not shoot at police if they are fired on.
Now that is a dream.
deep sleep dream.
Not a waking dream.<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SistaCtry</div><div class="ubbcode-body">me did just hear bout it from me auntie a st mary, she cudden believe dat inna broad daylight dem a gwaan so bad~ :cry cry baby: </div></div>
you know a lot about gun men behavior Seriously Doc, you don't think this will affect tourism?
There were recent robberies of tourists at gunpoint in Nassau. They weren't harmed. As a result, three cruise lines - Disney, Carnival, and another - suspended service to Nassau. I know, I know ... tourists are different from locals, but the rampant shooting and killing in the streets won't exactly be a PR moment for Ja.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Dr.Dudd</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Your auntie and possibly you are in a dream world.
When was the last time they rob any place when it is closed?
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> </div></div> According to DSP Wright, the men opened fire and the police fired back hitting all three. <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body"> </div></div>
A likely story I dont think those bad bwoys had a chance to get a single shot off.....
They are robbbed quite regualarly.. Ah police man fren ah mine.. gets nervious every time he goes near one of them... I asked him why .. his comment..
"dem bad bwoy love rab dem sart ah place yah!"
Not in any appreciable way.
It is the same when the gay community claim they were going to damage Jamaican tourism.
I said it won't happen. and as usual i was right.
Jamaican tourism product is much more robust.
It is very well accepted.
Remember that they held up and robbed some tourist including a police officer from Texas.
they were doing a your off one of the cruise ships.
although he tried really valiantly to get it blown up .
It fizzled.
That is the secret of economics prediction.
Sociology plays a very large part in. the decision to go or not, is a sociological decision.
Yet it is rarely used when making most economic predictions.Ok after that long lecture let me tell you why.
The people who tend to visit Jamaica, already know about the violence.
the majority of them are aware of just as bad situation in their major tourist city.
Yet they realize that rarely if touches those close to them. The Jamaican visitor demography, are attracted to more than sea and sand.
mostly, what they visit for is not available to them in other places. <span style="font-size: 14pt">It is the satisfaction of being there.
It may sound strange, but just as you feel comfortable at places where others may find strange.
Jamaica have that effect on a large percentage of it's visitors. </span>
tourism is not about sun, beach and sight seeing. It is really about hiring a community for a short while.To substitute for your own community. <div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">you know a lot about gun men behavior Seriously Doc, you don't think this will affect tourism?
There were recent robberies of tourists at gunpoint in Nassau. They weren't harmed. As a result, three cruise lines - Disney, Carnival, and another - suspended service to Nassau. I know, I know ... tourists are different from locals, but the rampant shooting and killing in the streets won't exactly be a PR moment for Ja. </div></div>
We process personal data about users of our site, through the use of cookies and other technologies, to deliver our services, personalize advertising, and to analyze site activity. We may share certain information about our users with our advertising and analytics partners. For additional details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
By clicking "I AGREE" below, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our personal data processing and cookie practices as described therein. You also acknowledge that this forum may be hosted outside your country and you consent to the collection, storage, and processing of your data in the country where this forum is hosted.