ummmmmmmmmmmm
Re: ummmmmmmmmmmm
....and <span style="font-style: italic">that's</span> probably a ten year old photo. I'll bet she's not <span style="font-style: italic">that</span> cute now!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Curmudgeon_Milo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
<span style="font-weight: bold">"Photo Gallery"</span>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Aaah, I don't know man. Shi hav ah special look bout har, dat mystery, dat mek yuh kina, yuh kno... </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: turtledude</div><div class="ubbcode-body">....and <span style="font-style: italic">that's</span> probably a ten year old photo. I'll bet she's not <span style="font-style: italic">that</span> cute now!
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Curmudgeon_Milo</div><div class="ubbcode-body">
<span style="font-weight: bold">"Photo Gallery"</span>
</div></div> </div></div>
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Muslims are people too. They date. They even have sex.</div></div> whats the jewish sect who have sex through a special sheet ?(a sheet with ahole in it
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: RichD</div><div class="ubbcode-body"><div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Peasie</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Muslims are people too. They date. They even have sex.</div></div> whats the jewish sect who have sex through a special sheet ?(a sheet with ahole in it
) </div></div>
Last week's Jewish E-Mail of the Week entitled "Bizarre Jewish Sex" generated a ton of E-mail--which I suppose is not too surprising. The column was a response to an inquiry I received asking about the alleged Jewish practice of having sex through a hole in a sheet.
As I wrote last week, 6 rabbis I checked with knew very little or nothing about this practice and I concluded that the sex through a sheet was some kind of false rumor. I also invited explanations from readers who could shed light on this mystery.
The mail I received contained many bits and pieces of clues. Three different explanations emerged. Explanation #1 was offered by several readers--I would call this the Amish answer. Here is what one reader wrote:
"Actually I have heard of the practice, but it was about one of the very strict, early, religions here in America. I believe it was one of the Amish, or some such sects, that were beyond our current understanding of modesty between the sexes.
My family background is Pennsylvania Dutch and the verbal traditions of old practices were both rich and varied. How much was truth or fairy tail you could never be sure, a lot depended on who was telling the story."
Explanation # 2 was also sent in by a couple of readers. I call it the Spanish answer:
"I saw the practice in a movie Como Agua Para Chocolate (Like Water For Chocolate) which is a Spanish movie but has English subtitles. My Spanish teacher told me that some old Spanish customs had a newly married couple use a hole in the sheet for their first night together."
Finally, the most plausible explanation sent in by many readers: author Naomi Regan in her book Japhte's Daughter apparently makes reference to an ultra Orthodox Chassidic man who has sex through a sheet.
Armed with this last explanation, I approached a Chassidic rabbi and asked him what the story was. Basically he told me this is total nonsense...as did his wife! They told me they have heard this rumor for years and really don't know where it came from.
Of course I basically wrote this last week too--but many readers encouraged me to talk to a Chassidic Jew to find out the "true" story. One of the rabbis I spoke with last time around was Chassidic. So if you are keeping count, now that is 2 Chassidic rabbis and one Chassidic wife amongst others, who have debunked this sheet myth.
Just for good measure, I contacted author Naomi Regan in Jerusalem and she told me that the sex through a sheet practice, "certainly [is] not the norm in anyway. And even the ultra-Orthodox deny it exists....In my opinion this custom -- if it exists at all--is another one of those that creeped into Judaism from the Middle Ages from the non-Jewish world, where sex was held as a sin and necessary evil. Authentic Judaism has always had an earthy, healthy attitude towards marital relations."
So there you have it: Jews having sex through a sheet is RUMOR CITY- BIG TIME!!!
One other letter I will throw in here because it made me smile came from a woman who is now converting to Judaism. She wrote:
"I am studying to become a Jew by choice. I heard about "hole in the sheet sex" ages ago, before I became interested in Judaism. At the time I assumed & hoped(!) it was mis-information/rumor. (After all, I rationalized, Dr. Ruth is Jewish!)
Was SO relieved to know after I began investigating that this is, as you point out, completely contrary to Jewish law."
So, Amish, Spanish or Jewish...what do all of these have in common? "Ish!" Which is also the first syllable of the word ishkabibbel which is a good summary of what I have discovered.
The one thing that was clear from all of the E-mail I received and contacts I have made is that NOBODY, I repeat NOBODY, actually knew of any human of any religion, nationality or tribe that practiced hole in the sheet sex.
So what can be learned from this "hole" mess? I conclude that we should all endeavor to avoid listening to and passing on stereotypes and rumors. Tempting as it is to speak about others, doing so is not wise, is often destructive and for good measure, is against Jewish Law.
Unintentionally, in my efforts to clear this mystery up I fear I may have added to the rumor mill. I hope not--I certainly do not want to leave the impression that Amish, Spanish or anybody else have sex through a hole in a sheet.
I do want to reiterate a point from last week's response that is clear--the Jewish attitude toward sex. Judaism places restrictions on sexual behavior but definitely does not view sex between married couples as sinful or dirty. On the contrary, between a husband and wife, Judaism views sex as positive, healthy and worthy of enjoyment. I hope this puts this hole in sheet business to bed -- sorry about that pun!
Gil