Re: Sting 2009 — all about nothing
Well if China doesn't allow what we referred to as "slackness" in their music...I'm still not planning to move there. [nor even visit the place for that matter]
The worst part for me in terms of Yard music is the FACT that Reggae [inna da dancehall] USED to be a leader, a trend setter, a genre with a unique sense of style and purpose [whether one liked it all or not is another story]. Now it is, at best, a pale follower.
How Jamaican artists and producers EVER allowed that to happen is completely beyond me and, at the same time, unfathomable. It was Jamaicans in the music biz that allowed their own unique 'take' to be taken and driven into the mud. Maybe they paved that slippery slope but they did nothing significant to then save it or reclaim it. Instead they just got in line and hoped that they would score a hit song a farrin.
And so what do Jamaicans end up with? A failed Sting.
Well if China doesn't allow what we referred to as "slackness" in their music...I'm still not planning to move there. [nor even visit the place for that matter]
The worst part for me in terms of Yard music is the FACT that Reggae [inna da dancehall] USED to be a leader, a trend setter, a genre with a unique sense of style and purpose [whether one liked it all or not is another story]. Now it is, at best, a pale follower.
How Jamaican artists and producers EVER allowed that to happen is completely beyond me and, at the same time, unfathomable. It was Jamaicans in the music biz that allowed their own unique 'take' to be taken and driven into the mud. Maybe they paved that slippery slope but they did nothing significant to then save it or reclaim it. Instead they just got in line and hoped that they would score a hit song a farrin.
And so what do Jamaicans end up with? A failed Sting.
</div></div>BOADWL. Likkle moas mi go ask what de hell Tiger woods have to do wid Dancehall, den mi memba