When criminality becomes normal
Two stories in yesterday's STAR were indicators of how normal criminality has become in Jamaica.
The first, with the headline 'Drug dealers beat con man', spoke about how a cocaine addict was beaten by those who he owed money after the promised payment did not materialise. It is not the beating that shows how far we have travelled towards making criminality accepted, but the fact that those who were owed could confidently expect payment for an illegal substance taken on credit.
Then there was 'Murder at party suspected to be gang related'. This story explored the possibility that the murder of Patrick 'Kingman' McDonald on New Year's Day was because he had switched gang allegiances. For the thugs who speculated about why he was killed, it was accepted that it was the fate of a man who switched two times too often.
When lawbreaking becomes normal, we are in a serious situation indeed. There are those who will argue that we have been in that position for some time. Even if that is so, there is absolutely no reason why we have to stay in it and getting out begins with the simple step of taking an approach which shows those involved that it is not business as usual.
The police simply cannot afford to let these matters slide and, with the speculation on the causes of the beating and murder, have a very good starting point. Will they at least make the effort to deal with those involved? We certainly hope so.
<span style="font-weight: bold">mi read dis n mi mind run pon dancehall...from rubadub to open sex...wen lewdness becomes normal </span>
Two stories in yesterday's STAR were indicators of how normal criminality has become in Jamaica.
The first, with the headline 'Drug dealers beat con man', spoke about how a cocaine addict was beaten by those who he owed money after the promised payment did not materialise. It is not the beating that shows how far we have travelled towards making criminality accepted, but the fact that those who were owed could confidently expect payment for an illegal substance taken on credit.
Then there was 'Murder at party suspected to be gang related'. This story explored the possibility that the murder of Patrick 'Kingman' McDonald on New Year's Day was because he had switched gang allegiances. For the thugs who speculated about why he was killed, it was accepted that it was the fate of a man who switched two times too often.
When lawbreaking becomes normal, we are in a serious situation indeed. There are those who will argue that we have been in that position for some time. Even if that is so, there is absolutely no reason why we have to stay in it and getting out begins with the simple step of taking an approach which shows those involved that it is not business as usual.
The police simply cannot afford to let these matters slide and, with the speculation on the causes of the beating and murder, have a very good starting point. Will they at least make the effort to deal with those involved? We certainly hope so.
<span style="font-weight: bold">mi read dis n mi mind run pon dancehall...from rubadub to open sex...wen lewdness becomes normal </span>
but juss dem normal progression