with all the kerfuffle at airports these days, is it better to check a laptop or carry it on the plane with u? can a laptop safely be packed in checked luggage?
packing a computer
Re: packing a computer
MG - are you being serious here?
Well, if so ...
First, why don't you call the carrier and see what they advise - rules and fees are changing everyday.
Second, I'd imagine the least safe please (from damage, from theft) for you to put you computer, would be you checked suitcase.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">with all the kerfuffle at airports these days, is it better to check a laptop or carry it on the plane with u? can a laptop safely be packed in checked luggage?
</div></div>do YOU trust the Airlines with your luggage?
You worry too much.
If you're that concerned, run out the battery or just clear your history.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">thanks, yuri and hO. i do feel that carryon is best, but i haven't travelled with a laptop in years, and mi fraid of the whole open it up, mek wi look pannie, which site u visit recently, all dem horror story deh mi hear bout....
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: Yuri_</div><div class="ubbcode-body">You worry too much.
If you're that concerned, run out the battery or just clear your history.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: MGee</div><div class="ubbcode-body">thanks, yuri and hO. i do feel that carryon is best, but i haven't travelled with a laptop in years, and mi fraid of the whole open it up, mek wi look pannie, which site u visit recently, all dem horror story deh mi hear bout....
</div></div> </div></div>
MGee, I always travel with my laptop. Sometimes I'll keep it in the laptop sleeve/bag. Other times I pack it in my carry on suitcase. Just last week on USAirways they said my carryon was wider than the required size. I had my laptop in the carry on, so I just took it out and board the plane with it under my arms. There was absolutely no way I would leave it in the suitcase after the airlines took that bag to be checked luggage.
Btw, my laptop is packed in a sleeve which I insert into a regular shoulder bag.
Killing the battery may raise more question than it is worth. The do have the right to hold on to the laptop until they can check it out for safety, and national security of info, if you perk their interest, because they can't check the laptop out immediately.
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: J kid</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Killing the battery may raise more question than it is worth. The do have the right to hold on to the laptop until they can check it out for safety, and national security of info, if you perk their interest, because they can't check the laptop out immediately. </div></div>
u was just about to say draining the battery would be a red flag.
I've had to power it up...no issues. They seem to just want to be sure that *you* arent afraid of the thing exploding in your face
So once u hit power, they are cool and let u go on thru.
but I would never ever put my laptop in my checked luggage :shaeemu:
if you see anyone riding this,,please let me know